NAICS 722515
What permits does a coffee shop need?
In short
We hold 3543 verified records for a coffee shop across 475 jurisdictions, counting statewide registrations, a median of 7 per place. The most widely required is the food service establishment permit, held in 376 of them, with a median fee of $275. The exact set depends on your city and county, so the table below shows the spread rather than a single national figure.
The permits a coffee shop usually carries
Each row groups the permits of one type, whatever the local name. 2333 differently named permits fall into 253 types; the 25 most widely required are shown here.
| Permit type | Jurisdictions | Typical fee (middle half) | Median fee | Usual term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food service establishment permitalways applies in 297 of 376 | 376 | $150 – $534 | $275 | annual |
| General business licensealways applies in 108 of 246 | 246 | $45 – $146 | $90 | not applicable |
| Sign permitalways applies in 68 of 213 | 213 | $50 – $280 | $100 | one-time, per sign |
| Certificate of occupancyalways applies in 159 of 203 | 203 | $75 – $220 | $116 | issued once per qualifying occupancy |
| Commercial alteration permitalways applies in 96 of 148 | 148 | $63 – $150 | $100 | one-time, per project |
| Temporary food establishment permitalways applies in 9 of 140 | 140 | $50 – $180 | $75 | per event |
| Building permitalways applies in 45 of 133 | 133 | $75 – $1,034.16 | $600 | per permit |
| Onsite sewage system permitalways applies in 1 of 94 | 94 | $225 – $550 | $385 | per permit |
| Food manager certificationalways applies in 38 of 66 | 66 | $10 – $100 | $50 | 5 years |
| Fire inspection permitalways applies in 21 of 65 | 65 | $75 – $175 | $100 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Zoning verification letteralways applies in 3 of 58 | 58 | $50 – $200 | $100 | one-time, per request |
| Sales and use tax permitalways applies in 45 of 57 | 57 | $0 – $50 | $20 | not applicable |
| Food establishment plan reviewalways applies in 19 of 56 | 56 | $157.50 – $425 | $273 | per project (one-time) |
| Alcohol licensealways applies in 2 of 54 | 54 | $25 – $400 | $75 | annual |
| New commercial construction permitalways applies in 37 of 51 | 51 | $60 – $1,000 | $200 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Fire inspection certificatealways applies in 31 of 47 | 47 | $50 – $195 | $100 | annual |
| Conditional use permitdepends on premises or set-up | 44 | $350 – $7,000 | $1,200 | one-time per application |
| Site plan review permitalways applies in 2 of 39 | 39 | $100 – $520 | $291 | one-time, per application |
| Fire protection system permitalways applies in 13 of 35 | 35 | $100 – $250 | $200 | per permit |
| Zoning permitalways applies in 9 of 31 | 31 | $50 – $750 | $200 | per application |
| Mobile food vendor permitalways applies in 23 of 29 | 29 | $185 – $500 | $250 | annual |
| Plan review feealways applies in 12 of 29 | 29 | $171 – $1,020 | $660 | one-time, per project |
| Floodplain development permitdepends on premises or set-up | 28 | $50 – $150 | $150 | per project |
| Food handler trainingalways applies in 26 of 28 | 28 | $10 – $20 | $15 | not stated in the published schedule |
| Alcohol local approvalalways applies in 1 of 27 | 27 | $75 – $80 | $80 | license year May 1 to April 30; Class C November 1 to October 31 (Neb. Rev. Stat. 53-124(10)) |
228 further permit types are each held in fewer jurisdictions. They are listed, with their fees and sources, on the page for each jurisdiction below.
Do the requirements change between cities?
Substantially. 2 permit types are held in at least half of the 475 jurisdictions we cover for a coffee shop; the other 251 appear in fewer. The categories of permit are broadly consistent nationally, but the issuing agency, the fee, the renewal term and the filing order all change at city and county level. This is why a national checklist is a starting point rather than an answer.
Food service establishment permit: 291 published fees, from $0 to $35,750. Half fall between $150 and $534, and the median is $275.
General business license: 211 published fees, from $0 to $550,000. Half fall between $45 and $146, and the median is $90.
Sign permit: 80 published fees, from $5 to $2,471. Half fall between $50 and $280, and the median is $100.
Coffee shops by state
We publish a full permit list for a coffee shop in 424 jurisdictions across 50 states and DC. Each state page lists them all.
- Alabama 20
- Alaska 3
- Arizona 9
- Arkansas 3
- California 24
- Colorado 8
- Connecticut 3
- Delaware 6
- District of Columbia 1
- Florida 21
- Georgia 8
- Hawaii 4
- Idaho 8
- Illinois 9
- Indiana 8
- Iowa 8
- Kansas 7
- Kentucky 3
- Louisiana 3
- Maine 3
- Maryland 8
- Massachusetts 3
- Michigan 11
- Minnesota 9
- Mississippi 3
- Missouri 7
- Montana 3
- Nebraska 8
- Nevada 5
- New Hampshire 3
- New Jersey 16
- New Mexico 8
- New York 9
- North Carolina 8
- North Dakota 3
- Ohio 9
- Oklahoma 8
- Oregon 5
- Pennsylvania 9
- Rhode Island 3
- South Carolina 5
- South Dakota 3
- Tennessee 8
- Texas 69
- Utah 8
- Vermont 3
- Virginia 8
- Washington 9
- West Virginia 3
- Wisconsin 8
- Wyoming 3
Coffee shops by city
- Guilford County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Forsyth County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Durham County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- King County, WAPublished permit listFull permit list
- Montgomery County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Summit County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Fort Worth, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Grand Prairie, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Mecklenburg County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Arlington, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Hamilton County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- San Antonio, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
Showing the 12 jurisdictions where we publish the most. See all 424.
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
