20 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Arlington?
In short
A coffee shop in Arlington, TX has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Arlington Health Services charges $350 per application for the food establishment change of ownership. 5 of the 20 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Arlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Permit | Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $250–$2,500 by project valuation | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Health Services | $350 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Catering Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Health Services | $225 per year | one year from the date of issuance | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of Arlington Health Services | $500 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Operating Permit | City of Arlington Health Services | $300–$425 per year, by inspection priority | one year from the date of issuance | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Health Services | $52 per booth, per event | 1 to 14 days, tied to a permitted special event | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Permit | City of Arlington Health Services | $16 per person | two years | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $60 per interceptor | one-time, per installation | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $30 per device, first device | one-time, per installation | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Outdoor Event Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per event, up to 500 attendees | per event | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Arlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $200 per building | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — New Structure | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Existing Structure | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Arlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 20 records listed for a coffee shop in Arlington, TX, 9 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 9 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $716.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 20 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Permit: $250–$2,500 by project valuation
Food Establishment Operating Permit: $300–$425 per year, by inspection priority
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page.
Is Arlington expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Arlington sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Food Establishment Plan Review: Arlington charges $500. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $150 in Bell County to $500 here, with a median of $200. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Demolition Permit: Arlington charges $200. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 here, with a median of $106.50. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Arlington charges $52. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $51. 4 charge less, 1 charges more and 2 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Food Establishment Plan Review varies by $350 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Arlington?
Permits for a coffee shop in Arlington, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Arlington Health Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesIssues 10 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy, Commercial Building Permitwww.arlingtontx.gov/Business/Development-Resources
- Arlington Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Permit817-459-5539www.arlingtontx.gov/City-Services/Public-Safety/Fire-Department
- City of Arlington Health ServicesIssues 6 permits on this page, including Food Establishment Change of Ownership, Catering Permit, Food Establishment Plan Review(817) 459-6693www.arlingtontx.gov/Business/Health-Services/Health-Services
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Arlington that other businesses do not?
Temporary Food Establishment Permit
$52 per booth per event for the permit and inspection, and a further $52 for the application review — read the schedule as $104 a booth if you are budgeting, not $52. Non-profit temporary vendors are charged the same $52 for registration and inspection. Apply at least 10 days before the first day of the event: inside 10 days there is a $25 expedited review fee, and applying at the event itself is $50. Pre-packaged non-perishable goods — bottled drinks, bagged crisps, whole uncut fruit — do not need the permit at all. Events of 15 to 180 days are a seasonal permit instead, at $200.
Shared with other businesses in Arlington
- Fire Permit — Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $250–$2,500 by project valuation, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment Change of Ownership — City of Arlington Health Services, $350 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Catering Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $225 per year, one year from the date of issuance. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment Plan Review — City of Arlington Health Services, $500 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment Operating Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $300–$425 per year, by inspection priority, one year from the date of issuance. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Handler Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $16 per person, two years. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $60 per interceptor, one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Backflow Prevention Device Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $30 per device, first device, one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Temporary Outdoor Event Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $100 per event, up to 500 attendees, per event. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Arlington, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Arlington permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Arlington?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 10 of these permits. A restaurant needs Seasonal Market Permit, Specific Use Permit or Planned Development, Food Establishment Master Permit and 6 more, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 19 | 10 | 0 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 8 | 2 | 12 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 3 | 7 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 3 | 7 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 2 | 8 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 6 | 2 | 8 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 8 | 2 | 8 | 6 |
| Childcare centres | 5 | 1 | 9 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 10 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Health Permits & Fees — fees effective 1 September 2025City of Arlington Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Retail & Temporary Food Inspection ProgramCity of Arlington Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
