21 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Fort Worth?
In short
A coffee shop in Fort Worth, TX has 11 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division charges $200 per change of ownership for the food permit change of ownership. 9 of the 21 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Permit Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $200 per change of ownership | one-time | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly | Fort Worth Fire Department | $80–$390 by occupant load | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Certificate | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $10–$16 per person, by course route | two years | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Manager Certification | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $85 for the online class | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fixed Food Establishment Annual Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $258–$773 per year, banded by gross annual food sales | annual | 2026-08-24 |
| Pre-Permit Request for Servicesonly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $150 per request | one-time | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Event Food and Beverage Booth | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $52 per booth | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Trap or Interceptor Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $9.85 per trap or interceptor | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $165–$500 by square footage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary or Limited Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $378 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Kitchen Hood Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $11.65–$31.37 by hood type and component | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Consumer Health Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $200 per site inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Change of Occupancy Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $90 per permit | does not expire; a new certificate is required when the occupancy classification changes | 2026-08-24 |
| Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $63 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Inspection | Fort Worth Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Fort Worth?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 21 records listed for a coffee shop in Fort Worth, TX, 11 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 11 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $227.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 21 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly: $80–$390 by occupant load
Food Handler Certificate: $10–$16 per person, by course route
Fixed Food Establishment Annual Permit: $258–$773 per year, banded by gross annual food sales
Food Establishment Plan Review: $165–$500 by square footage
Commercial Kitchen Hood Permit: $11.65–$31.37 by hood type and component
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?
Permits for a coffee shop in Fort Worth, TX come from 5 separate offices: Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Fire Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health DivisionIssues 8 permits on this page, including Food Permit Change of Ownership, Food Handler Certificate, Food Manager Certification817-392-7255www.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/environmental-services/consumer-health
- City of Fort Worth Development ServicesIssues 8 permits on this page, including Plan Review Deposit, Sign Permit, Grease Trap or Interceptor Permitwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services
- Fort Worth Fire DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly, Fire Inspectionwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/fire
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?
Food Permit Change of Ownership
$200 when a food business changes hands. A permit does not simply transfer with the premises, so budget this into any acquisition alongside the annual permit itself. Reissuing a permit for other reasons is $100, and a required re-inspection is $200.
Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly
$80 for an occupant load up to 300, $165 for 301 to 1,000, and $390 above 1,000. This is the permit a restaurant with a dining room, a bar, a gym or an event space needs — and it sits on top of the area-banded fire inspection fee rather than replacing it. A temporary membrane structure, tent or canopy is $280 under Sec. 105.5.49, which is the highest tent fee in this dataset by a distance.
Temporary Event Food and Beverage Booth
$52 per food and beverage booth. The per-additional-day charge, the special event fee and the temporary permit late fee were all eliminated in the September 2025 schedule.
Grease Trap or Interceptor Permit
$9.85 — the cheapest grease interceptor permit in this dataset, against $60 in Arlington and $75 in Abilene. A sand trap is $18.81, a backflow preventer $9.85, a floor drain $4.02 and each roof drain $9.38. The first fixture or appliance is $9.85 and each additional one $4.02, so a full restaurant plumbing package still lands in the low hundreds. The outlier is irrigation: each lawn sprinkler system is $113.40.
Food Establishment Plan Review
$165 to $500 depending on floor area, set out in the division's separate Schedule of Plan Review Fees. Considerably cheaper than Arlington's flat $500 for the same step. Budget it alongside the annual food establishment permit rather than instead of it.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth
- Food Handler Certificate — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $10–$16 per person, by course route, two years. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Manager Certification — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $85 for the online class, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fixed Food Establishment Annual Permit — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $258–$773 per year, banded by gross annual food sales, annual. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Pre-Permit Request for Services — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $150 per request, one-time. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary or Limited Certificate of Occupancy — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $378 per certificate, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Commercial Kitchen Hood Permit — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $11.65–$31.37 by hood type and component, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Consumer Health Reinspection — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $200 per site inspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, childcare centres and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 12 of these permits. A restaurant needs Zoning Change Application, Fire Operational Permit — Pyrotechnic Special Effects, Planned Development Site Plan Review and 6 more, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 21 | 12 | 0 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 7 | 5 | 13 |
| Fitness studios | 8 | 3 | 9 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 2 | 10 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 11 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 1 | 11 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 11 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 0 | 12 | 7 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 12 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, restaurants page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Schedule of Fees — Fort Worth Consumer Health Division, effective 1 September 2025City of Fort Worth (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- Development fees schedule — Ordinance No. 27191-09-2024 amending the Code of the City of Fort WorthCity of Fort Worth Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Consumer Health Division Schedule of Fees, effective 1 September 2025 (revised 26 June 2025)City of Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
