18 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Grand Prairie?
In short
A coffee shop in Grand Prairie, TX has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections charges $100 average for the change of occupancy. 7 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Grand Prairie
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Health Permit | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $250–$500 per year, by establishment type | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit | Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $75 per system | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Address Changeonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $50 per request | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $50–$250 per booth for a single event, or for recurring events | tied to a permitted special event | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Interceptor Requirement | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | No fee | service frequency set by regulation approved 14 August 2007 | 2026-08-24 |
| Special Event Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $30 per event, plus a $250 deposit | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $35 annual fee, per device | annual, per device | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change of Occupancy | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $100 average | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | grandfathered off-premise signs renew annually at $105 | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $60 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to you | Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Grand Prairie?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a coffee shop in Grand Prairie, TX, 10 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 10 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $270.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Health Permit: $250–$500 per year, by establishment type
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $50–$250 per booth for a single event, or for recurring events
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page.
Is Grand Prairie expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Grand Prairie sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Demolition Permit: Grand Prairie charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Grand Prairie?
Permits for a coffee shop in Grand Prairie, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsIssues 6 permits on this page, including Change of Occupancy, New Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit(972) 237-8230www.gptx.org/Departments/Building-Inspections
- City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental QualityIssues 4 permits on this page: Food Establishment Health Permit, Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Grease Interceptor Requirement, Backflow Prevention Device Testing and RegistrationCity Hall, 300 W. Main Street, 2nd Floor, Grand Prairie, TX 75050 · 972-237-8055www.gptx.org/Departments/Public-Health-and-Environmental-Quality/Environmental-Quality/Permits-Policies/Food-Service-Permits
- Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit, Fire Alarm System Permitwww.gptx.org/Departments/Fire
- City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Commercial Address Change, Sign Permit, Special Event Permitwww.gptx.org/Departments/Planning-and-Development
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Grand Prairie that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Health Permit
$500 a year to renew a full service establishment, $300 for a convenience store, and $250 for other types — which the city defines to include food preparation trucks and additional permits, so a second permit at the same site is $250 rather than a repeat of the full rate. Opening costs more than renewing: a new establishment or an extensive remodel is $200, and taking over an existing one is $150 for the change of owner. A duplicate or replacement permit is $25. The permit issues once the facility is complete and in compliance with both city and state rules. One outlier worth knowing if you are opening a venue rather than a restaurant: a dance floor permit is $1,000, the single largest health charge Grand Prairie levies.
Commercial Address Change
$50 for a property owner requesting a specific address — worth knowing about when a tenant space is being subdivided and the suite numbering has to be created before utilities and licensing can be applied for. A street name change is also $50, refunded if City Council denies the request.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit
$50 per booth for a single event, non-refundable, or $250 for recurring events — so a trader doing five or more dated events is better off on the recurring permit. Booths run by a non-profit, or by a business in conjunction with an event promoting the City of Grand Prairie, pay NO permit fee at all, but must still apply and meet every other requirement. Applications are reviewed alongside the special event permit they attach to, and payment is made in person at City Hall, 300 W. Main Street, 2nd Floor. Allow 24 to 48 hours for processing. Failing to comply with the guidelines can bring a citation, revocation of permits and closure of the food service operation.
Grease Interceptor Requirement
Not a permit with a fee, but a requirement worth costing at design stage. Food establishments offering high-fat menu items — meat and dairy, soups and stews, gravies and sauces, bakery items and salads — must have a grease interceptor, and the city requires EVERY plumbing fixture in each food preparation and utensil washing area to drain through it. Sizing follows the International Plumbing Code, calculated on the total flow rate of the three-compartment sinks, prep sinks and automatic dishwashers in the facility, so the interceptor is sized off the kitchen design rather than off the seat count. Service frequency is fixed by regulations the city approved on 14 August 2007. The city publishes no fee for the requirement itself.
Shared with other businesses in Grand Prairie
- Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit — Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $75 per system, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Special Event Permit — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $30 per event, plus a $250 deposit, per event. Also required for fitness studios, food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $35 annual fee, per device, annual, per device. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Grand Prairie permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Grand Prairie?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 7 of these permits. A restaurant needs Commercial Parking Lot Permit, On-Site Sewage Facility Permit, Fire Sprinkler System Permit and 11 more, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 21 | 7 | 0 | 14 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 5 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 21 | 5 | 2 | 16 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 2 | 5 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 9 | 2 | 5 | 7 |
| Auto repair shops | 11 | 2 | 5 | 9 |
| Veterinary clinics | 5 | 1 | 6 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 7 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 13 | 0 | 7 | 13 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Health Permits — Food Establishments FeesCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Unified Development Code Article 22: Fee Schedule, last updated 2 September 2025City of Grand Prairie Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Food Service PermitsCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
