NAICS 624410
What permits does a childcare centre need?
In short
We hold 2483 verified records for a childcare centre across 462 jurisdictions, counting statewide registrations, a median of 5 per place. The most widely required is the general business license, held in 230 of them, with a median fee of $90. The exact set depends on your city and county, so the table below shows the spread rather than a single national figure.
The permits a childcare centre usually carries
Each row groups the permits of one type, whatever the local name. 1729 differently named permits fall into 189 types; the 25 most widely required are shown here.
| Permit type | Jurisdictions | Typical fee (middle half) | Median fee | Usual term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General business licensealways applies in 87 of 230 | 230 | $45 – $146 | $90 | not applicable |
| Certificate of occupancyalways applies in 161 of 202 | 202 | $75 – $215 | $116 | issued once per qualifying occupancy |
| Child care facility permitalways applies in 120 of 190 | 190 | $75 – $245 | $150 | not applicable |
| Commercial alteration permitalways applies in 96 of 147 | 147 | $63 – $160 | $100 | one-time, per project |
| Building permitalways applies in 46 of 135 | 135 | $75 – $1,034.16 | $600 | per permit |
| Sign permitalways applies in 9 of 104 | 104 | $75 – $300 | $120 | per sign |
| Onsite sewage system permitalways applies in 1 of 93 | 93 | $200 – $551 | $390 | per permit |
| Food service establishment permitalways applies in 43 of 62 | 62 | $115 – $360 | $200 | annual |
| Conditional use permitdepends on premises or set-up | 60 | $350 – $5,465 | $775 | one-time, per application |
| Zoning verification letteralways applies in 5 of 56 | 56 | $50 – $200 | $100 | one-time, per request |
| Fire inspection permitalways applies in 24 of 52 | 52 | $50 – $150 | $90 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| New commercial construction permitalways applies in 37 of 51 | 51 | $90 – $1,600 | $276.75 | per permit |
| Site plan review permitalways applies in 2 of 38 | 38 | $100 – $520 | $291 | one-time, per application |
| Fire inspection certificatealways applies in 24 of 34 | 34 | $50 – $195 | $75 | annual |
| Zoning permitalways applies in 10 of 32 | 32 | $50 – $750 | $200 | per application |
| Floodplain development permitdepends on premises or set-up | 28 | $50 – $150 | $150 | per project |
| Fire protection system permitalways applies in 9 of 24 | 24 | $100 – $250 | $200 | per permit |
| Childcare facility fire inspectionalways applies in 19 of 23 | 23 | $83 – $290 | $110 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Right of way permitdepends on premises or set-up | 22 | $150 – $4,500 | $750 | per permit |
| Water well permitdepends on premises or set-up | 22 | $125 – $425 | $226 | per project |
| Sales and use tax permitalways applies in 16 of 21 | 21 | $0 | $0 | no expiry while actively engaged in business |
| Zoning variance permitdepends on premises or set-up | 21 | $250 – $750 | $350 | one-time, per application |
| Food establishment plan reviewalways applies in 4 of 20 | 20 | $125 – $400 | $250 | per project |
| Plan review feealways applies in 7 of 19 | 19 | $25 – $279 | $171 | one-time, per project |
| Fire inspectionalways applies in 15 of 18 | 18 | $50 – $150 | $50 | annual |
164 further permit types are each held in fewer jurisdictions. They are listed, with their fees and sources, on the page for each jurisdiction below.
Do the requirements change between cities?
Substantially. 0 permit types are held in at least half of the 462 jurisdictions we cover for a childcare centre; the other 189 appear in fewer. The categories of permit are broadly consistent nationally, but the issuing agency, the fee, the renewal term and the filing order all change at city and county level. This is why a national checklist is a starting point rather than an answer.
General business license: 198 published fees, from $0 to $550,000. Half fall between $45 and $146, and the median is $90.
Certificate of occupancy: 126 published fees, from $0 to $1,143. Half fall between $75 and $215, and the median is $116.
Child care facility permit: 96 published fees, from $15 to $2,575. Half fall between $75 and $245, and the median is $150.
Childcare centres by state
We publish a full permit list for a childcare centre in 411 jurisdictions across 50 states and DC. Each state page lists them all.
- Alabama 18
- Alaska 3
- Arizona 9
- Arkansas 3
- California 24
- Colorado 8
- Connecticut 3
- Delaware 6
- District of Columbia 1
- Florida 21
- Georgia 8
- Hawaii 4
- Idaho 7
- Illinois 9
- Indiana 8
- Iowa 8
- Kansas 7
- Kentucky 3
- Louisiana 2
- Maine 3
- Maryland 6
- Massachusetts 3
- Michigan 11
- Minnesota 9
- Mississippi 3
- Missouri 6
- Montana 3
- Nebraska 8
- Nevada 5
- New Hampshire 3
- New Jersey 16
- New Mexico 8
- New York 8
- North Carolina 8
- North Dakota 3
- Ohio 9
- Oklahoma 8
- Oregon 5
- Pennsylvania 9
- Rhode Island 3
- South Carolina 5
- South Dakota 3
- Tennessee 8
- Texas 64
- Utah 8
- Vermont 3
- Virginia 8
- Washington 9
- West Virginia 3
- Wisconsin 8
- Wyoming 3
Childcare centres by city
- Guilford County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Forsyth County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Durham County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- King County, WAPublished permit listFull permit list
- Montgomery County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Summit County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Fort Worth, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Grand Prairie, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Mecklenburg County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Arlington, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Hamilton County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- San Antonio, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
Showing the 12 jurisdictions where we publish the most. See all 411.
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
