Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Grand Prairie?

In short

A childcare centre in Grand Prairie, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections charges $100 average for the change of occupancy. 8 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Grand Prairie

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to youGrand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention$50–$300 by number of sprinkler headsnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department$1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000one-time, per application2026-08-24
Child Care LicenseTexas Health and Human Services$35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacityannual2026-08-20

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Change of OccupancyCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$100 averagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
New Commercial Building PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Remodel and Addition PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagegrandfathered off-premise signs renew annually at $1052026-08-24
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to youGrand Prairie Fire Department, Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Grand Prairie?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a childcare centre in Grand Prairie, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads

Specific Use Permit: $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000

Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page.

Is Grand Prairie expensive for a childcare centre?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Grand Prairie sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Demolition Permit: Grand Prairie charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Grand Prairie?

Permits for a childcare centre in Grand Prairie, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Grand Prairie that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here applies to no other business type we cover in Grand Prairie: Child Care License.

Child Care License

Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.

Shared with other businesses in Grand Prairie

  • Fire Sprinkler System Permit — Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Specific Use Permit — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Grand Prairie permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Grand Prairie?

The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 2 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care License. A veterinary clinic needs On-Site Sewage Facility Permit, Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration and Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Grand Prairie, TX, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Veterinary clinics5213
Fitness studios9217
Auto repair shops11219
Restaurants212119
Retail stores212119
Contractors and trades131212
Coffee shops7037
Food trucks6036
Salons and barbers3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.