Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Arlington?

In short

A childcare centre in Arlington, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Arlington Planning and Development Services charges $150 per certificate for the temporary certificate of occupancy. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Arlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire PermitArlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention$250–$2,500 by project valuationnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Specific Use Permit or Planned Developmentonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or moreone-time, per application2026-08-24
Child Care Center Operating PermitCity of Arlington Health Services$275–$425 per year, with or without food serviceone year from the date of issuance2026-08-24
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$75 per siteone-time, per site2026-08-24
Child Care LicenseTexas Health and Human Services$35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacityannual2026-08-20

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Arlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Arlington pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$150 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Arlington pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$200 per buildingnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy — New StructureCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy — Existing StructureCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Arlington pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Arlington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a childcare centre in Arlington, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Permit: $250–$2,500 by project valuation

Specific Use Permit or Planned Development: $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more

Child Care Center Operating Permit: $275–$425 per year, with or without food service

Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page.

Is Arlington expensive for a childcare centre?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Arlington sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Demolition Permit: Arlington charges $200. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 here, with a median of $106.50. Nowhere else covered here charges more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Arlington?

Permits for a childcare centre in Arlington, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Arlington Health Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Arlington that other businesses do not?

2 of the 5 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Arlington: Child Care Center Operating Permit and Child Care License.

Child Care Center Operating Permit

$275 without food service, $425 with it — so adding a kitchen to a nursery costs $150 a year in permit terms, before any construction. New permit application and plan review is $425 for new construction or a major remodel, and a change of ownership is $350. Each playground at the facility is inspected at $50, initially and on each annual renewal. Child care workers hold their own permit at $20, valid three years, with the training course at $10 a head or $50 for on-site group instruction; an instructor certificate is $50 every five years.

Child Care License

Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.

Shared with other businesses in Arlington

  • Fire Permit — Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $250–$2,500 by project valuation, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Specific Use Permit or Planned Development — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Zoning Verification Letter — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $75 per site, one-time, per site. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Arlington, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Arlington permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Arlington?

The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 3 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care Center Operating Permit and Child Care License. A veterinary clinic needs On-Site Sewage System Installation Permit, Backflow Prevention Device Permit and Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Arlington, TX, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Veterinary clinics6323
Auto repair shops7324
Fitness studios8325
Restaurants193216
Retail stores203217
Salons and barbers5144
Coffee shops10149
Contractors and trades6056
Food trucks6056

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, fitness studios page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Health Permits & Fees — fees effective 1 September 2025City of Arlington Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.