13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Fort Worth?
In short
A childcare centre in Fort Worth, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division charges $385 per year, plus $5 per employee for the child care facility permit. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child Care Facility Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $385 per year, plus $5 per employee | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
| Consumer Health Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $200 per site inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Change of Occupancy Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $90 per permit | does not expire; a new certificate is required when the occupancy classification changes | 2026-08-24 |
| Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $63 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Inspection | Fort Worth Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Fort Worth?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a childcare centre in Fort Worth, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $475.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Zoning Verification Letter: $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?
Permits for a childcare centre in Fort Worth, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, Fort Worth Fire Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Worth Development ServicesIssues 6 permits on this page, including Plan Review Deposit, Sign Permit, Zoning Verification Letterwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services
- Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Child Care Facility Permit, Consumer Health Reinspection817-392-7255www.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/environmental-services/consumer-health
- Fort Worth Fire DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspectionwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/fire
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?
2 of the 4 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Fort Worth: Child Care Facility Permit and Child Care License.
Child Care Facility Permit
$385 a year plus $5 per employee — so a nursery with twelve staff pays $445. Daycare training is a further $16 per person, valid two years. Reinspection after closure of a child care facility is $200. Compare Arlington, which charges $275 without food service and $425 with it, and prices playground inspections separately.
Consumer Health Reinspection
$200 per site visit after the closure of a food facility, mobile food unit, child care facility, aquatic facility, hotel or motel. Note what triggers it — this is the fee for reopening after a closure, not for an ordinary follow-up. A separate $100 re-issuance fee applies to any permit paid after its expiration date, which is the charge most operators actually meet.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround, one-time, per request. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care Facility Permit and Child Care License. A fitness studio needs Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly, Zoning Change Application, Planned Development Site Plan Review and 3 more, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 8 | 2 | 2 | 6 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 2 | 2 | 18 |
| Restaurants | 21 | 2 | 2 | 19 |
| Coffee shops | 12 | 1 | 3 | 11 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 0 | 4 | 7 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 4 | 5 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Consumer Health Division Schedule of Fees, effective 1 September 2025 (revised 26 June 2025)City of Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
