NAICS 812112
What permits does a salon or barber need?
In short
We hold 2590 verified records for a salon or barber across 458 jurisdictions, counting statewide registrations, a median of 6 per place. The most widely required is the general business license, held in 278 of them, with a median fee of $100. The exact set depends on your city and county, so the table below shows the spread rather than a single national figure.
The permits a salon or barber usually carries
Each row groups the permits of one type, whatever the local name. 1697 differently named permits fall into 199 types; the 25 most widely required are shown here.
| Permit type | Jurisdictions | Typical fee (middle half) | Median fee | Usual term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General business licensealways applies in 100 of 278 | 278 | $50 – $150 | $100 | not applicable |
| Sign permitalways applies in 68 of 212 | 212 | $50 – $280 | $100 | one-time, per sign |
| Certificate of occupancyalways applies in 162 of 203 | 203 | $75 – $207 | $112 | issued once per qualifying occupancy |
| Commercial alteration permitalways applies in 97 of 147 | 147 | $63 – $150 | $100 | one-time, per project |
| Building permitalways applies in 46 of 137 | 137 | $75 – $1,034.16 | $600 | per permit |
| Onsite sewage system permitalways applies in 1 of 94 | 94 | $200 – $551 | $385 | per permit |
| Sales and use tax permitalways applies in 45 of 57 | 57 | $0 – $50 | $20 | not applicable |
| Zoning verification letteralways applies in 3 of 57 | 57 | $50 – $200 | $100 | one-time, per request |
| Fire inspection permitalways applies in 22 of 51 | 51 | $40 – $181 | $150 | not stated |
| New commercial construction permitalways applies in 37 of 51 | 51 | $60 – $1,000 | $200 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Conditional use permitdepends on premises or set-up | 46 | $330 – $4,206 | $600 | one-time, per application |
| Fire inspection certificatealways applies in 31 of 41 | 41 | $50 – $195 | $90 | annual |
| Site plan review permitalways applies in 2 of 38 | 38 | $100 – $520 | $291 | one-time, per application |
| Zoning permitalways applies in 10 of 31 | 31 | $50 – $750 | $200 | per application |
| Home occupation permitdepends on premises or set-up | 30 | $52 – $280 | $110 | not applicable |
| Floodplain development permitdepends on premises or set-up | 28 | $50 – $150 | $150 | per project |
| Body art facility permitdepends on premises or set-up | 25 | $146 – $469 | $296 | annual |
| Occupational license taxalways applies in 18 of 24 | 24 | $2 – $8.50 | $8.50 | annual; due October 1, delinquent November 1 (§40-12-26); 15% delinquency penalty plus 6% annual interest (§40-12-10(e)) |
| Right of way permitdepends on premises or set-up | 22 | $150 – $4,500 | $750 | per permit |
| Water well permitdepends on premises or set-up | 22 | $125 – $425 | $226 | per project |
| Body art establishment permitdepends on premises or set-up | 21 | $140 – $375 | $362 | annual |
| Zoning variance permitdepends on premises or set-up | 21 | $250 – $750 | $350 | one-time, per application |
| Fire inspectionalways applies in 15 of 19 | 19 | $50 – $200 | $150 | annual |
| Fire protection system permitalways applies in 4 of 19 | 19 | $100 – $200 | $100 | one-time, per system installation |
| Commercial building permitalways applies in 3 of 17 | 17 | $200 | $200 | per project |
174 further permit types are each held in fewer jurisdictions. They are listed, with their fees and sources, on the page for each jurisdiction below.
Do the requirements change between cities?
Substantially. 1 permit type is held in at least half of the 458 jurisdictions we cover for a salon or barber; the other 198 appear in fewer. The categories of permit are broadly consistent nationally, but the issuing agency, the fee, the renewal term and the filing order all change at city and county level. This is why a national checklist is a starting point rather than an answer.
General business license: 292 published fees, from $0 to $550,000. Half fall between $50 and $150, and the median is $100.
Sign permit: 80 published fees, from $5 to $2,471. Half fall between $50 and $280, and the median is $100.
Certificate of occupancy: 127 published fees, from $0 to $1,143. Half fall between $75 and $207, and the median is $112.
Salons and barbers by state
We publish a full permit list for a salon or barber in 407 jurisdictions across 50 states and DC. Each state page lists them all.
- Alabama 20
- Alaska 3
- Arizona 9
- Arkansas 3
- California 24
- Colorado 8
- Connecticut 3
- Delaware 6
- District of Columbia 1
- Florida 21
- Georgia 8
- Hawaii 4
- Idaho 7
- Illinois 9
- Indiana 8
- Iowa 8
- Kansas 7
- Kentucky 3
- Louisiana 3
- Maine 3
- Maryland 7
- Massachusetts 3
- Michigan 11
- Minnesota 9
- Mississippi 3
- Missouri 6
- Montana 3
- Nebraska 8
- Nevada 5
- New Hampshire 3
- New Jersey 15
- New Mexico 8
- New York 10
- North Carolina 8
- North Dakota 3
- Ohio 9
- Oklahoma 8
- Oregon 5
- Pennsylvania 9
- Rhode Island 3
- South Carolina 5
- South Dakota 3
- Tennessee 8
- Texas 55
- Utah 8
- Vermont 3
- Virginia 8
- Washington 9
- West Virginia 3
- Wisconsin 8
- Wyoming 3
Salons and barbers by city
- Guilford County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Forsyth County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Durham County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- King County, WAPublished permit listFull permit list
- Montgomery County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Summit County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Fort Worth, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Grand Prairie, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Mecklenburg County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Arlington, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Hamilton County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- San Antonio, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
Showing the 12 jurisdictions where we publish the most. See all 407.
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
