Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Grand Prairie?

In short

A salon or barber in Grand Prairie, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections charges $100 average for the change of occupancy. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Grand Prairie

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Address Changeonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department$50 per requestone-time, per request2026-08-24
Backflow Prevention Device Testing and RegistrationCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$35 annual fee, per deviceannual, per device2026-08-24
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment LicenseTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation$78 per license periodtwo years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Change of OccupancyCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$100 averagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
New Commercial Building PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Remodel and Addition PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagegrandfathered off-premise signs renew annually at $1052026-08-24
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$60 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to youGrand Prairie Fire Department, Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Grand Prairie?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a salon or barber in Grand Prairie, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $273.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page.

Is Grand Prairie expensive for a salon or barber?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Grand Prairie sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Demolition Permit: Grand Prairie charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Grand Prairie?

Permits for a salon or barber in Grand Prairie, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Grand Prairie that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Grand Prairie: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.

Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License

Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.

Shared with other businesses in Grand Prairie

  • Commercial Address Change — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $50 per request, one-time, per request. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $35 annual fee, per device, annual, per device. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Grand Prairie permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Grand Prairie?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A coffee shop needs Food Establishment Health Permit, Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit, Temporary Food Establishment Permit and 2 more, which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Grand Prairie, TX, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops7215
Auto repair shops11219
Veterinary clinics5124
Fitness studios9128
Restaurants212119
Retail stores212119
Childcare centres3033
Contractors and trades130313
Food trucks6036

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.