Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Juneau?

In short

A salon or barber in Juneau, AK has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeFive percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department$50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days2026-09-14
Salon and Barber Shop — State Shop Owner License Applies (Juneau)only if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentNo feenot applicable locally; the state shop owner license is biennial to August 31 of odd-numbered years2026-09-14
Shop Owner LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$410 total — a $150 nonrefundable application fee plus a $260 license fee2 years — every license expires August 31 of odd-numbered years, regardless of issue date2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.002026-09-14
Building PermitCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee sections2026-09-14
Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeNo feethe registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity2026-09-14
Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to youCapital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Juneau pageper permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually2026-09-14
Certificate of OccupancyCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentNo feeone-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Juneau?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a salon or barber in Juneau, AK, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $460.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms): Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.

Sign Permit: $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?

Permits for a salon or barber in Juneau, AK come from 5 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Juneau that other businesses do not?

2 of the 4 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Juneau: Salon and Barber Shop — State Shop Owner License Applies (Juneau) and Shop Owner License.

Salon and Barber Shop — State Shop Owner License Applies (Juneau)

No fee applies locally: the chapter lists of CBJ Title 20 and Title 36 name no cosmetology chapter. Alaska licenses the premises instead: a shop owner license is $150.00 application plus $260.00 license, $410.00 in total, issued for two years and expiring August 31 of odd-numbered years, with a $5.00 fee for a change of location. The state license covers a shop performing hairdressing, barbering, esthetics, manicuring, body piercing, tattooing or permanent cosmetic colouring, and requires a DEC certification of compliance with 18 AAC 23, or a DEC certificate of sanitary standards where body art is performed. A salon's Juneau obligations are the sales tax registration — personal services are taxable at five percent — the development permit and conditional use permit where the district requires one, the building permit for fit-out, the $50.00 sign permit and the annual fire inspection.

Shop Owner License

This is the shop-level license, separate from the $330 an individual hairdresser, barber, esthetician or manicurist pays for their own personal license. A shop must also separately hold the general Business License and certify sanitary compliance with the environmental conservation department; a shop doing tattooing, piercing or permanent cosmetics needs a further sanitary standards certificate on top.

Shared with other businesses in Juneau

  • Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms) — City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption., ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, food trucks and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit — City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C)., not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Juneau?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon and Barber Shop — State Shop Owner License Applies (Juneau) and Shop Owner License. A retail store needs Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Juneau, AK, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Retail stores3221
Auto repair shops4222
Coffee shops5223
Restaurants5223
Fitness studios2131
Veterinary clinics3132
Food trucks4133
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Business Licensing Forms and Fees — the State of Alaska's own $50 per year business licence required of every business under AS 43.70.020(a), with the $25 senior and disabled veteran rates and the December 31 expiryAlaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers — Shop Owner License application, fee and biennial termAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.