Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Juneau?

In short

A fitness studio in Juneau, AK has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department$50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days2026-09-14
Fitness Studio — City and Borough Position (Juneau)only if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.002026-09-14
Building PermitCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee sections2026-09-14
Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeNo feethe registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity2026-09-14
Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to youCapital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Juneau pageper permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually2026-09-14
Certificate of OccupancyCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentNo feeone-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Juneau?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Juneau, AK, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?

Permits for a fitness studio in Juneau, AK come from 5 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Juneau that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Juneau: Fitness Studio — City and Borough Position (Juneau).

Fitness Studio — City and Borough Position (Juneau)

This listing carries no fee: the chapter lists of CBJ Titles 20 and 36 name no fitness, gym or health club chapter, and the fee sections of 12 AAC 02 name no state fitness license. A studio's obligations are the sales tax registration, since services are taxable at five percent, the development permit and a conditional use permit where the district requires one, priced by floor area rather than by trade so that a studio under 10,000 square feet falls in Class II at $500.00, the building permit for fit-out, the $50.00 sign permit and the annual fire inspection the Fire Marshal performs on buildings open to the public.

Shared with other businesses in Juneau

  • Sign Permit — City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C)., not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Juneau?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Fitness Studio — City and Borough Position (Juneau). A retail store needs Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms) and Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau), which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Juneau, AK, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores3112
Veterinary clinics3112
Auto repair shops4113
Salons and barbers4113
Coffee shops5114
Restaurants5114
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks4024

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.