Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Anchorage?

In short

A salon or barber in Anchorage, AK has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation charges $150 per year, halved where the shop operates six months or less in the permit year for the beauty, barber and nail shop permit (municipal premises permit). 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Anchorage

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Beauty, Barber and Nail Shop Permit (municipal premises permit)Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation$150 per year, halved where the shop operates six months or less in the permit yearannual, expiring December 31 of the year of issuance under AMCR R15.05.0012026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.not stated in the published fee tables2026-09-14
Shop Owner LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$410 total — a $150 nonrefundable application fee plus a $260 license fee2 years — every license expires August 31 of odd-numbered years, regardless of issue date2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Anchorage

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Planning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Anchorage pageone-time per application2026-09-14
General Business License — Anchorage Position (state license is universal)only if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable municipally; the separate State of Alaska business license expires December 31 of the licensing period purchased2026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety InspectionAnchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Anchorage pagecommercial, industrial, institutional and multi-family buildings may be inspected annually or every other year2026-09-14
Commercial Building PermitMunicipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Varies — formula on the Anchorage pagenot stated in the published fee tables2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit)Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)No feeone-time; a conditional certificate issued because of weather delay expires on September 15 of the following year2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Anchorage?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a salon or barber in Anchorage, AK, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $610.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Anchorage?

Permits for a salon or barber in Anchorage, AK come from 7 separate offices: Municipality of Anchorage, Planning Department, Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation, Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's Office, Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Anchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Anchorage that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Anchorage: Beauty, Barber and Nail Shop Permit (municipal premises permit) and Shop Owner License.

Beauty, Barber and Nail Shop Permit (municipal premises permit)

Anchorage licenses the premises while the State licenses the practitioner, and both apply. AMC 16.50.020 makes it unlawful to operate a shop without a municipal permit, and the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing separately licenses the shop owner at $150.00 application plus $260.00 license, biennially to August 31 of odd-numbered years. The same premises-versus-practitioner split appears explicitly elsewhere in the Anchorage code: AMC 10.40.010 defers to the State for massage practitioners while the Municipality regulates the establishment. The half-fee provision for a shop operating six months or less in the permit year is worth noting for seasonal operations.

Sign Permit

Anchorage prices signs per inspection rather than per square foot or by valuation, which makes an illuminated sign materially more expensive than an unlit one — three inspections instead of two, a difference of $175.00 before plan review. Plan review is charged per discipline with a half-hour minimum each, so a sign needing land use, structural and electrical review attracts three separate minimum charges on top. A business needing relief from the sign code faces a much larger number: the sign permit variance is $1,370.00.

Shop Owner License

This is the shop-level license, separate from the $330 an individual hairdresser, barber, esthetician or manicurist pays for their own personal license. A shop must also separately hold the general Business License and certify sanitary compliance with the environmental conservation department; a shop doing tattooing, piercing or permanent cosmetics needs a further sanitary standards certificate on top.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Anchorage, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Anchorage permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Anchorage?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Beauty, Barber and Nail Shop Permit (municipal premises permit) and Shop Owner License. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — Pool or Spa Permit Only if Operated (Anchorage), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Anchorage, AK, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Auto repair shops3122
Retail stores3122
Veterinary clinics3122
Coffee shops4123
Restaurants4123
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Anchorage Municipal Code Regulations — AMCR Title R10 licence fees (pawnbroker and used automobile display lot $100.00, service establishments $100.00, recreation and amusement $50.00, vendor $150.00), R15.05.001 (child care and shop permit fees, and the December 31 expiry) and R21.20.002 (the adopted zoning fee schedule)Municipality of Anchorage · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Anchorage Municipal Code, eCode360 AN6998 — Title 10 (Business Licenses and Regulations, including the repealed chapters 10.30 and 10.35), AMC 16.50 (shops), 16.55 (child care licensing), 16.60 (food establishments, including the §16.60.110 risk-scored fee table), 23.10.109 (building, contractor, sign and inspection fee tables 3-A to 3-O), 23.10.107.4 (certificate of occupancy) and 23.45.108.2 (fire fee tables 1-A to 3-M), all as amended by AO No. 2026-33, 4-14-2026Municipality of Anchorage, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers — Shop Owner License application, fee and biennial termAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.