Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Juneau?

In short

A coffee shop in Juneau, AK has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeFive percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department$50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days2026-09-14
Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau)only if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeNo feenot applicable locally; the state license is annual2026-09-14
Food Worker CardAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program$10 one-time application fee3 years2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program$400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or moreannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.002026-09-14
Building PermitCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee sections2026-09-14
Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeNo feethe registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity2026-09-14
Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to youCapital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Juneau pageper permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually2026-09-14
Certificate of OccupancyCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentNo feeone-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Juneau?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Juneau, AK, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms): Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.

Sign Permit: $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).

Food Establishment Permit: $400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or more

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?

Permits for a coffee shop in Juneau, AK come from 6 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Juneau that other businesses do not?

Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms)

Of the three Alaska municipalities covered on this site, Juneau is the only one with a general sales tax — Anchorage and Fairbanks both levy selective taxes only — so a retailer or restaurant here carries a collection obligation that has no counterpart in the other two. Two changes took effect on October 1, 2026: the single-item cap rose from $14,300 to $50,000, and the $30 timely online filing discount was withdrawn. The exemption that matters most by trade is the food distinction — groceries are exempt as essential foods while restaurant food is taxable, the exemption expressly excluding 'HOT FOODS, ALCOHOL, TOBACCO, AND FOOD FOR IMMEDIATE CONSUMPTION.' Child care services are exempt outright. One exemption benefits contractors: a builder holding a current building permit and a CBJ Builder Sales Tax Exemption Card may buy construction services and materials incorporated into the site free of tax. The rate structure is genuinely temporary in part — three of the five percentage points are scheduled to lapse in July 2027 and a fourth in September 2028 unless re-enacted.

Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau)

No fee applies locally. CBJ Title 36, Health and Sanitation, has chapters for refuse collection, the sewer code, nuisances, animals on public premises, litter, water systems, solid fuel-fired burning devices, drug paraphernalia, tobacco, second-hand smoke, chronic nuisance property and fireworks control, and none for food; the City and Borough's own contact directory lists twenty departments, none of them a health or environmental health regulator. CBJ's own vending provisions point outward, requiring a 'current state food handling permit' and a 'State of Alaska Health Permit Number.' DEC's fee schedule therefore governs: a food service establishment is $400.00 seating twenty-five or fewer, $490.00 for twenty-six to one hundred and $580.00 for one hundred and one or more, a limited food service $190.00, a caterer $430.00, a grocery store or supermarket $310.00 and a convenience store $125.00, with school food service fee-exempt and a full waiver for 501(c)(3) organisations. What Juneau itself requires of a restaurant is the sales tax registration, the development and building permits, the annual fire inspection and collection of five percent sales tax on its taxable sales.

Food Worker Card

Ten dollars, valid three years — but not stacked on top of a Certified Food Protection Manager credential: a worker who already holds a current CFPM certificate does not need this card at all. The Municipality of Anchorage runs a parallel, separately administered food worker card at the same $10 price, and explicitly does not accept the state-issued card as a substitute within its jurisdiction.

Food Establishment Permit

A limited food service establishment pays a flat $190, and a mobile food unit $215. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit pays nothing at all, a 501(c)(4)/(10)/(19) organization gets half off, and any facility opening between October 1 and December 31 gets a 50% discount on its first annual fee. The Municipality of Anchorage runs its own separate delegated food permitting program rather than using this state schedule, and does not accept a state permit in place of its own — its fee is risk-scored under Anchorage Municipal Code 16.60.110 ($260/year for Risk Type 1, $460 for Type 2, $660 for Type 3), recorded on the Anchorage city record rather than duplicated here.

Shared with other businesses in Juneau

  • Sign Permit — City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C)., not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Juneau?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Juneau, AK need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Juneau, AK, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants5500
Retail stores3320
Food trucks4321
Auto repair shops4232
Salons and barbers4232
Fitness studios2141
Veterinary clinics3142
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades4054

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Sales Tax — the Finance Department's own current page requiring every business to register before making sales, rendering services or making rentals, and stating the 5 percent general rate, the 8 percent alcohol and marijuana rates, the 14 percent room rate, the $25 late filing fee, the 5 percent monthly late payment penalty to a 25 percent maximum and 12 percent annual interestCity and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Find Your Local Environmental Health Officer — Alaska DEC's own statement that retail-only food activities within the Municipality of Anchorage are regulated by the Anchorage Health Department rather than by DEC, the only such carve-out in the stateAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  4. Alaska DEC — food worker card fee, term, and the CFPM exemptionAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  5. Alaska DEC — food establishment annual permit fee schedule by facility type and seatingAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.