13 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Juneau?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Juneau, AK has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary Practice — State Licenses the Practitioner (Juneau)only if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C). | not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days | 2026-09-14 |
| Veterinary Facility Permit — Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners positiononly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.00 | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee sections | 2026-09-14 |
| Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free) | City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office | No fee | the registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | per permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | No fee | one-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50 | every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 2 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term | 1 or 2 years, selectable at application | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to you | Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission | No fee | not applicable at the state level | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Juneau?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Juneau, AK, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Juneau, AK come from 5 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Veterinary Practice — State Licenses the Practitioner (Juneau), Development Permit / Conditional Use Permit, Sign Permit230 South Franklin Street, 4th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-0715juneau.org/community-development
- City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)155 Heritage Way, City Hall Room 106, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5215juneau.org/finance/sales-tax
- Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspection820 Glacier Avenue, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5322juneau.org/fire/fire-marshal
- Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional LicensingIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report, Business LicensePO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 · (907) 465-2550www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl
- Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)arsstc.org
What does a veterinary clinic need in Juneau that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here apply to no other business type we cover in Juneau: Veterinary Practice — State Licenses the Practitioner (Juneau) and Veterinary Facility Permit — Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners position.
Veterinary Practice — State Licenses the Practitioner (Juneau)
No fee applies locally: CBJ Title 20's chapter list names no veterinary chapter, and 12 AAC 02.350 sets fees for veterinarians and veterinary technicians only, with no facility line in the fee chapter. Juneau's Title 08, Animal Control and Protection, reaches pet licensing rather than veterinary businesses: chapter 08.15 provides that 'No person shall own, keep or harbor any dog … unless the dog is licensed as provided in this chapter,' which falls on owners. The owner's fee is set by Resolution No. 2809(am), adopted October 16, 2017 under CBJC 08.50.010 and still the latest animal control fee resolution in the code's resolution table: 'The annual license fee shall be $45.00 for each dog over the age of six months, provided that the fee shall be $20.00 for each spayed female and each neutered male,' halved for dogs acquired after September 1, with a $15.00 late fee for a license issued after March 31. The same resolution prices the transfer of 'an animal establishment permit' at $25.00, but Title 08 as now codified creates no such permit — chapter 08.15 licenses dogs only — so nothing in it attaches to a clinic. A clinic's obligations are the sales tax registration, the development permit and conditional use permit where required, the building permit and the annual fire inspection.
Veterinary Facility Permit — Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners position
The Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners' applications and forms page lists the license and permit types the board issues — examination and credentials licenses, temporary licenses and permits, veterinary technician licensing, a courtesy license for special events, and a student permit — and that list names no facility, premises, hospital or clinic category. No state facility fee is shown here for that reason; a practice still needs licensed veterinarians, the Alaska business license and whatever its municipality requires.
Shared with other businesses in Juneau
- Sign Permit — City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C)., not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Juneau?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Practice — State Licenses the Practitioner (Juneau) and Veterinary Facility Permit — Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners position. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — City and Borough Position (Juneau), which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- CBJ Title 08, Animal Control and Protection, read in the Municode version of June 26, 2026 — chapter 08.15 licensing dogs only, 08.50.010 directing the Assembly to set fees by resolution, and no animal establishment, kennel or veterinary premises permit anywhere in the titleCity and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Resolution No. 2809(am), adopted October 16, 2017, establishing the fees for animal control and protection services under CBJC 08.50.010 and repealing Resolution No. 2767 — the $45.00 annual dog license, $20.00 for a spayed or neutered dog, half fee for dogs acquired after September 1, the $15.00 late fee after March 31, and the special license, transfer, duplicate tag, impound, boarding and group license feesCity and Borough of Juneau, Office of the Municipal Clerk · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Resolution Table of the CBJ Code of Ordinances, current through Resolution No. 4041 (March 9, 2026) — listing Resolution No. 2809 of October 16, 2017 as the most recent resolution establishing animal control and protection feesCity and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Alaska Board of Veterinary Examiners — complete list of licence and permit types, with no facility category among themAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
