11 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Juneau?
In short
A contractor or trade in Juneau, AK has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor — State Registration and Backflow Testing Apply (Juneau)only if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | No fee | not applicable locally; the state contractor registration is biennial | 2026-09-14 |
| Plumbing or Mechanical Certificate of Fitnessonly if it applies to you | Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Mechanical Inspection Section | $200 for issuance or renewal, plus a $50 nonrefundable application fee | 2 years at journeyman level; 6 years at trainee level | 2026-09-04 |
| General Contractor Registration | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $350 total — a $100 nonrefundable application fee plus a $250 registration fee | 2 years — expires December 31 of even-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| Electrician Certificate of Fitnessonly if it applies to you | Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Mechanical Inspection Section | $200 for issuance or renewal, plus a $50 nonrefundable application fee | 2 years at journeyman level; 6 years at trainee level | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.00 | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee sections | 2026-09-14 |
| Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free) | City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office | No fee | the registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50 | every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 2 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term | 1 or 2 years, selectable at application | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Juneau?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a contractor or trade in Juneau, AK, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $400.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Juneau, AK come from 4 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Mechanical Inspection Section. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Development Permit / Conditional Use Permit, Contractor — State Registration and Backflow Testing Apply (Juneau), Building Permit230 South Franklin Street, 4th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-0715juneau.org/community-development
- City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)155 Heritage Way, City Hall Room 106, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5215juneau.org/finance/sales-tax
- Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional LicensingIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report, Business LicensePO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 · (907) 465-2550www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl
- Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Mechanical Inspection SectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Plumbing or Mechanical Certificate of Fitness, Electrician Certificate of Fitness1251 Muldoon Rd., Suite 113, Anchorage, AK 99504 · (907) 269-4925labor.alaska.gov/lss/mihome.htm
What does a contractor or trade need in Juneau that other businesses do not?
4 of the 4 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Juneau: Contractor — State Registration and Backflow Testing Apply (Juneau), Plumbing or Mechanical Certificate of Fitness, General Contractor Registration and Electrician Certificate of Fitness.
Contractor — State Registration and Backflow Testing Apply (Juneau)
No fee applies locally: the chapter lists of CBJ Title 20 (Business Regulations) and Title 19 (Building Regulations) name no contractor licensing chapter. The State of Alaska registers contractors instead, at $100.00 to apply and $250.00 for the biennial certificate of registration under 12 AAC 02.180, with a residential contractor endorsement at a further $250.00 and bonding from $5,000 for a handyman whose contract price is $10,000 or less up to $25,000 for a general contractor. What Juneau imposes instead is the permit set and one recurring compliance duty that is easy to miss: the Cross Connection Control Program requires that 'Backflow prevention devices must be tested by a CBJ approved tester each calendar year. A passing test report must be submitted for each device by November 1st of each calendar year.' One benefit runs the other way — a contractor holding a current building permit and a CBJ Builder Sales Tax Exemption Card buys construction services and incorporated materials free of the five percent sales tax.
Plumbing or Mechanical Certificate of Fitness
Priced identically to the electrical Certificate of Fitness, under the same statute and the same Mechanical Inspection Section — Alaska does not run a separately priced plumbing licensing system. The statute provides no general small-job dollar exemption for either trade; only a narrow carve-out exists for employees of an electric utility serving no city over 2,500 people.
General Contractor Registration
A $25,000 surety bond is required alongside the registration fee, well above the $10,000 bond a specialty or mechanical contractor posts, or the $5,000 a handyman posts. Minimum liability insurance runs $20,000 property, $50,000 for a single injury and $100,000 for a multi-person injury, with workers' compensation required once the business has employees or is structured as a corporation or LLC.
Electrician Certificate of Fitness
Alaska has no separate 'master electrician' tier — trainee and journeyman are the two Certificate of Fitness levels, both priced identically at $200 to issue or renew. A distinct Electrical Administrator license, issued by a different agency entirely (the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, not the Department of Labor), sits above this as the credential a contracting firm's work is signed off under: $320 total to obtain ($150 nonrefundable application fee plus a $170 license fee) and $170 to renew biennially. The parallel Mechanical Administrator license — covering plumbing, HVAC, refrigeration and related trades under the same CBPL program — costs $350 total to obtain ($150 application plus $200 license) and $200 to renew biennially.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Juneau?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Contractor — State Registration and Backflow Testing Apply (Juneau), Plumbing or Mechanical Certificate of Fitness, General Contractor Registration and Electrician Certificate of Fitness. A auto repair shop needs Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms), Sign Permit, Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau) and Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 0 | 4 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 0 | 4 | 5 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Business Licensing Forms and Fees — the State of Alaska's own $50 per year business licence required of every business under AS 43.70.020(a), with the $25 senior and disabled veteran rates and the December 31 expiryAlaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Alaska Certificates of Fitness Statutes and Regulations — fee and term for electrical and mechanical tradesAlaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Alaska CBPL — General Contractor registration, fee, bond, and biennial termAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Electrical Administrator License by Examination — Application Instructions: Nonrefundable Application Fee $150.00, License Fee $170.00, Total Fees Due $320.00Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Electrical Administrator License Renewal, January 1, 2026 - December 31, 2027: Biennial License Renewal $170.00 (licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2024)Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Mechanical Administrator by Examination License Application Instructions: Nonrefundable Application Fee $150.00, License Fee $200.00, Total Fees Due $350.00Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Mechanical Administrator License Renewal, January 1, 2026 - December 31, 2027: Biennial License Renewal $200.00 (licenses first issued on or before December 31, 2024)Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
