11 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Juneau?
In short
A childcare centre in Juneau, AK has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child Care Facility — State License; Conditional Use and Fire Inspection Apply (Juneau) | Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | Two City and Borough charges apply. A fire inspection is $50.00 under CBJC 19.01.108.15.1, described in the schedule as 'Childcare or Daycare Inspection.' A conditional use permit, where the district requires one, is $350.00 for a day care or child care home as a Class I use and $500.00 for a day care or child care centre as a Class II use under CBJC 49.85.100(3). | the fire inspection recurs annually for buildings open to the public; the state license is separate | 2026-09-14 |
| Child Care License | Alaska Department of Health, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office | No fee | 2 years | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.00 | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee sections | 2026-09-14 |
| Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free) | City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office | No fee | the registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | per permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | No fee | one-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50 | every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 2 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term | 1 or 2 years, selectable at application | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Juneau?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Juneau, AK, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Child Care Facility — State License; Conditional Use and Fire Inspection Apply (Juneau): Two City and Borough charges apply. A fire inspection is $50.00 under CBJC 19.01.108.15.1, described in the schedule as 'Childcare or Daycare Inspection.' A conditional use permit, where the district requires one, is $350.00 for a day care or child care home as a Class I use and $500.00 for a day care or child care centre as a Class II use under CBJC 49.85.100(3).
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?
Permits for a childcare centre in Juneau, AK come from 5 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Department of Health, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Development Permit / Conditional Use Permit, Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy230 South Franklin Street, 4th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-0715juneau.org/community-development
- City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)155 Heritage Way, City Hall Room 106, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5215juneau.org/finance/sales-tax
- Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspection, Child Care Facility — State License; Conditional Use and Fire Inspection Apply (Juneau)820 Glacier Avenue, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5322juneau.org/fire/fire-marshal
- Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional LicensingIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report, Business License, Articles of Organization (LLC)PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 · (907) 465-2550www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl
- Alaska Department of Health, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care License3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503 · (907) 269-4500health.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/licensed-providers.aspx
What does a childcare centre need in Juneau that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Juneau: Child Care Facility — State License; Conditional Use and Fire Inspection Apply (Juneau) and Child Care License.
Child Care Facility — State License; Conditional Use and Fire Inspection Apply (Juneau)
Licensing is a state function here, unlike Anchorage where the Municipality licenses childcare itself — the Alaska Child Care Program Office covers facilities located outside Anchorage, which includes Juneau. What Juneau charges is the $50.00 fire inspection and, where zoning requires it, the conditional use permit. The Class I and Class II split is the detail worth planning around: a child care home is Class I at $350.00 while a child care centre is Class II at $500.00, so the choice of format changes the land use cost as well as the state license category. Child care services are also expressly exempt from Juneau sales tax, which is a genuine saving in a jurisdiction that taxes most services at five percent.
Child Care License
The licensing office's brochure and the underlying regulation describe the application and inspection process in detail and state no dollar figure, so no state license fee is shown here. Three facility tiers by size: a Child Care Home (up to 8 children), a Group Home (9 to 12), and a Child Care Center (13 or more). The brochure states that the Child Care Program Office licenses facilities statewide except in the Municipality of Anchorage, to which the State delegates licensing; Anchorage runs that program under its own municipal code, with a capacity-banded fee ($50/year for 1-8 children, $125 for 9-20, $250 for 21-80, $375 for 81 or more, under Anchorage Municipal Code Regulations R15.05.001) recorded on the Anchorage city record rather than duplicated here.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Juneau?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care Facility — State License; Conditional Use and Fire Inspection Apply (Juneau) and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms), Sign Permit, Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau) and Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Alaska Child Care Program Office — licensing brochure, facility types and biennial renewal, no fee statedAlaska Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
