14 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Juneau?
In short
A auto repair shop in Juneau, AK has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms) | City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office | Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption. | ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C). | not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau)only if it applies to you | Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not applicable to the license itself; fire permits are per activity | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue positiononly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.00 | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | not stated in the published fee sections | 2026-09-14 |
| Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free) | City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office | No fee | the registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Juneau page | per permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department | No fee | one-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50 | every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 2 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term | 1 or 2 years, selectable at application | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to you | Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission | No fee | not applicable at the state level | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Juneau?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a auto repair shop in Juneau, AK, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms): Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.
Sign Permit: $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Juneau, AK come from 5 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms), Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)155 Heritage Way, City Hall Room 106, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5215juneau.org/finance/sales-tax
- City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Development Permit / Conditional Use Permit, Sign Permit, Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy230 South Franklin Street, 4th Floor, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-0715juneau.org/community-development
- Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspection, Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau)820 Glacier Avenue, Juneau, AK 99801 · (907) 586-5322juneau.org/fire/fire-marshal
- Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional LicensingIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report, Business LicensePO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 · (907) 465-2550www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl
- Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)arsstc.org
What does a auto repair shop need in Juneau that other businesses do not?
2 of the 4 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Juneau: Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau) and Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position.
Sign Permit
This is the cheapest sign permit of the Alaska municipalities covered on this site — $50.00 covering two signs, against Anchorage's $350.00 for a non-illuminated sign charged per inspection. The process is also quick and the Department commits to it in writing: 'A sign permit application will be reviewed and decided by the department within three (3) working days after receipt of the complete application.' Applicants file both a sign permit application and a development permit application, submitting to permits@juneau.gov or the Permit Center at 230 South Franklin Street. Signs proposed for the Historic District must additionally comply with the Historic District Sign Standards. Exempt window, residential and temporary signs are listed at CBJ 49.45.300.
Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau)
This listing carries no fee: CBJ Title 20's chapter list names no automotive repair chapter, and the fee sections of 12 AAC 02 name no state auto repair license. What a shop does owe is the sales tax registration, the development and building permits, and the fire permits its materials trigger: $50.00 for flammable or combustible material storage, $100.00 for hazardous material storage and $50.00 for a paint booth, each charged where the review is not already part of a building permit. A shop is also caught by the Cross Connection Control Program's annual backflow testing duty, with a passing report due by November 1 each year. Repairs and services are taxable at five percent, so a shop collects sales tax on labour as well as parts.
Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position
The business licensing division's A-to-Z professional licensing catalogue, covering everything from acupuncturists to veterinary examiners, contains no entry for auto repair, mechanics or collision work, so the state-level item for a repair shop is the general Alaska business license that every business holds. A Division of Motor Vehicles dealer license is triggered by buying or selling five or more vehicles a year, so it does not apply to a shop that only repairs vehicles.
Shared with other businesses in Juneau
- Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms) — City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption., ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, food trucks and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Juneau?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop — Fire Storage Permits Apply (Juneau) and Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position. A retail store needs Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau), which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 2 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 2 | 2 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City and Borough of Juneau Code of Ordinances, Supplement 167, codified through Serial No. 2026-14 — Title 20 (Business Regulations) and its complete chapter list; Title 36 (Health and Sanitation), which contains no food chapter; CBJC 69.05.020 (sales tax rates and sunsets), 69.05.170 (registration requirement); 19.01.105.1.1 and 19.01.110.1 (permits and certificates of occupancy); 19.01.108.8 (building permit fee table), 19.01.108.4 (plan review percentages) and 19.01.108.15.1 (fire permit fees); 49.15.110 (development permit) and 49.85.100 (the complete land use fee schedule); 62.10.050 and 62.10.070 (street and sidewalk vending)City and Borough of Juneau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Alaska CBPL — business licence fee schedule, $50 a year, 1- or 2-year termsAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
