Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Juneau?

In short

A restaurant in Juneau, AK has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeFive percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department$50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days2026-09-14
Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau)only if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeNo feenot applicable locally; the state license is annual2026-09-14
Food Worker CardAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program$10 one-time application fee3 years2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program$400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or moreannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Juneau

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Development Permit / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; an extension is priced at $250.002026-09-14
Building PermitCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Juneau pagenot stated in the published fee sections2026-09-14
Business Registration with the Sales Tax Office (free)City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax OfficeNo feethe registration itself does not expire and carries no renewal; returns are filed every reporting period regardless of activity2026-09-14
Fire Operational Permit and Annual Inspectiononly if it applies to youCapital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Juneau pageper permit; the Fire Marshal inspects buildings open to the public annually2026-09-14
Certificate of OccupancyCity and Borough of Juneau, Community Development DepartmentNo feeone-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited and is not a substitute for an approved final inspection2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Juneau?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a restaurant in Juneau, AK, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms): Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption.

Sign Permit: $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C).

Food Establishment Permit: $400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or more

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Juneau?

Permits for a restaurant in Juneau, AK come from 6 separate offices: City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, Capital City Fire/Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Juneau that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Juneau

  • Sales Tax Collection (5 percent general; 8 percent alcohol and marijuana; 14 percent rooms) — City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, Five percent on retail sales, services and non-residential rentals, built under CBJC 69.05.020 as one percent permanent, three percent automatically repealed on July 1, 2027 and one percent automatically repealed on September 30, 2028. Alcohol carries an additional three percent for a total of eight, marijuana an additional three for a total of eight, and room rentals of less than thirty days an additional nine for a total of fourteen. A single-item or single-service cap applies: $14,300 as codified, rising to $50,000 from October 1, 2026 under Ordinance 2026-27(am), with a lower $15,000 cap for motor vehicles priced at $50,000 or less — so the maximum tax on a capped item becomes $2,500, or $750 on such a vehicle. Leases and rentals remain ineligible for the cap. Thirty-seven exemptions apply, including child care, pre-elementary school and babysitting services, and essential foods excluding hot foods, alcohol, tobacco and food for immediate consumption., ongoing; returns are filed each reporting period. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, food trucks, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit — City and Borough of Juneau, Community Development Department, $50.00 for the first two signs, and $20.00 for each additional sign, under CBJC 49.85.100(1)(C)., not stated in the published fee schedule; the department decides a complete application within three working days. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Food Establishment License — State DEC License Applies (Juneau) — City and Borough of Juneau, Finance Department — Sales Tax Office, No fee, not applicable locally; the state license is annual. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Worker Card — Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, $10 one-time application fee, 3 years. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, $400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or more, annual. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Juneau, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Juneau permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Juneau?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Juneau, AK need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Juneau, AK, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5500
Retail stores3320
Food trucks4321
Auto repair shops4232
Salons and barbers4232
Fitness studios2141
Veterinary clinics3142
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades4054

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Juneau permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.