14 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Rutland?
In short
A salon or barber in Rutland, VT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Building Department | A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Salon and Barber Shop — State License Applies (Rutland)only if it applies to you | City of Rutland Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License | Vermont Office of Professional Regulation | $285–$355 $355 for the initial license; renewal is $285 every two years | 2 years, on a fixed expiration date printed on the license | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Permit | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | per project | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | one-time, per tenancy change or conveyance | 2026-09-14 |
| Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Rutland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a salon or barber in Rutland, VT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
7 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.
Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License: $285–$355 $355 for the initial license; renewal is $285 every two years
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Rutland?
Permits for a salon or barber in Rutland, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department, City of Rutland Building Department, City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rutland Planning and Zoning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Permit, Development Review Board Application1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7833www.rutlandcity.org/departments/planning-zoning-department
- City of Rutland Building DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland), Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7820www.rutlandcity.org/departments/building-department
- City of Rutland Clerk's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Salon and Barber Shop — State License Applies (Rutland)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05702 · (802) 773-1800www.rutlandcity.org/departments/clerks-office
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Office of Professional RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License89 Main Street, 3rd Floor, Montpelier, VT 05620 · (802) 828-1505sos.vermont.gov/opr
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a salon or barber need in Rutland that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Rutland: Salon and Barber Shop — State License Applies (Rutland) and Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License.
Salon and Barber Shop — State License Applies (Rutland)
No city fee applies for salon licensing: the chapter list of Title 11 (Business Licenses and Registration) of the Rutland City Code on eCode360 contains no salon, barber or cosmetology chapter — notable given that the same Title 11 does license bowling alleys, shooting galleries, pool rooms and coin machines, so the omission reflects what the charter list covers rather than an incomplete code. Practitioners and shops are regulated by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation. A salon's city obligations are the zoning permit, including the $0.20 per square foot change of use component, the building permit and the sign permit.
Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License
Every shop needs its own distinct license — a mobile facility included — regardless of common ownership with any other location. The $355/$285 figures come from multiple independent secondary sources rather than a directly confirmed primary fee schedule, since the licensing board's own PDF could not be reached during this research; the requirement itself and its two-year term are confirmed directly from the state's administrative rule text.
Shared with other businesses in Rutland
- Sign Permit — City of Rutland Building Department, A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rutland, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Rutland permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Rutland?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon and Barber Shop — State License Applies (Rutland) and Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — City of Rutland Position, which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Business Licensing — the City's own current page confirming that the Rutland business license cycle runs May 1 to April 30 and that a restaurant, bar, deli, hotel, circus, show, carnival or peddler must obtain a license from the Clerk's officeCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Code of Vermont Rules 04-030-030 — barbering and cosmetology shop licensing and two-year termVermont Office of Professional Regulation, mirrored by Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
