Commercial Compliance Hub

17 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Rutland?

In short

A coffee shop in Rutland, VT has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Rutland Clerk's Office charges $50 per permit, paid to the City Clerk on the granting of the permit by the Board of Aldermen for the entertainment club permit. 9 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Rutland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Rutland Building DepartmentA $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Restaurant and Victualing Establishment LicenseCity of Rutland Clerk's OfficeOn the City's own e-forms fee table a restaurant license is $65.00 for a new application and $40.00 to renew. The same table lists 'Business with Lunchroom' and 'Victualing Establishment' as separate rows priced 'N/A,' so which line applies to a business that is not plainly a restaurant is not resolved by the published table. A business carrying on several licensed activities at once takes a blank license, priced on the table as 'Determined on an Individual Basis.' All figures carry the City's own disclaimer that they are an estimate pending departmental review.the license year runs May 1 to April 30 — §1511 provides that all Title 11 licenses continue in force until the first day of May next following the date of issue2026-09-14
Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license)City of Rutland Clerk's OfficeSet by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health2026-09-14
Entertainment Club Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Rutland Clerk's Office$50 per permit, paid to the City Clerk on the granting of the permit by the Board of Aldermenunder §1511 all Title 11 licenses continue in force until the first day of May following issue2026-09-14
Food Establishment LicenseVermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program$105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youVermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging ProgramNo feenot applicable — a CFPM credential is one of three optional paths, not a flat requirement2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rutland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning PermitCity of Rutland Planning and Zoning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rutland pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland)City of Rutland Building DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rutland pageper project2026-09-14
Building PermitCity of Rutland Building DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rutland pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)City of Rutland Building DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rutland pageone-time, per tenancy change or conveyance2026-09-14
Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Rutland Planning and Zoning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Rutland pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

VT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$155 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$155 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$45 a yearannual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitVermont Department of TaxesNo feeno expiration — no renewal required2026-09-04
Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$60 a yearannual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer2026-09-04
General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Rutland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a coffee shop in Rutland, VT, 8 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

9 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.

Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License: On the City's own e-forms fee table a restaurant license is $65.00 for a new application and $40.00 to renew. The same table lists 'Business with Lunchroom' and 'Victualing Establishment' as separate rows priced 'N/A,' so which line applies to a business that is not plainly a restaurant is not resolved by the published table. A business carrying on several licensed activities at once takes a blank license, priced on the table as 'Determined on an Individual Basis.' All figures carry the City's own disclaimer that they are an estimate pending departmental review.

Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license): Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.

Food Establishment License: $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Rutland?

Permits for a coffee shop in Rutland, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department, City of Rutland Building Department, City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Rutland that other businesses do not?

Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license)

A Rutland restaurant holds two food-related credentials rather than one: the City's own Title 11 victualing license, recorded above, and this state license. The city license is a business license granted by the license board; the state license is the food safety instrument, and Vermont does not delegate it — 18 V.S.A. ch. 85 vests licensing in the Commissioner with no municipal delegation mechanism. Rutland does have a City Health Officer, sitting within the Building Department, but the role refers rather than licenses: 18 V.S.A. § 602a(b) requires a local health officer discovering a violation involving a food establishment to notify the state Division of Environmental Health immediately. A retail store falls within this record only where it sells food.

Food Establishment License

The seating bands run wide: $105 for a restaurant with 25 seats or fewer, climbing through $180, $300, $385 and $450, and reaching $1,000 for anywhere with 600 seats or more. This is a state-issued license from the Commissioner of Health rather than a locally delegated one. Vermont's standard mechanism for local public-health authority, the town-by-town Town Health Officer, is confirmed not to reach food licensing: the Health Department's own 2024 Town Health Officer Manual lists ten statutory topic areas for the role — appointments; roles and responsibilities; public health hazards; enforcement tools; animal bites and rabies; infectious diseases; outdoor air quality; drinking water; lead paint; and asbestos — and food or restaurant establishments are not among them. Food licensing itself runs through the Department's own Food and Lodging Program and its regional 'local health offices,' which are branches of that same state agency rather than independent town bodies.

Shared with other businesses in Rutland

  • Sign Permit — City of Rutland Building Department, A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License — City of Rutland Clerk's Office, On the City's own e-forms fee table a restaurant license is $65.00 for a new application and $40.00 to renew. The same table lists 'Business with Lunchroom' and 'Victualing Establishment' as separate rows priced 'N/A,' so which line applies to a business that is not plainly a restaurant is not resolved by the published table. A business carrying on several licensed activities at once takes a blank license, priced on the table as 'Determined on an Individual Basis.' All figures carry the City's own disclaimer that they are an estimate pending departmental review., the license year runs May 1 to April 30 — §1511 provides that all Title 11 licenses continue in force until the first day of May next following the date of issue. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Entertainment Club Permit — City of Rutland Clerk's Office, $50 per permit, paid to the City Clerk on the granting of the permit by the Board of Aldermen, under §1511 all Title 11 licenses continue in force until the first day of May following issue. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, No fee, not applicable — a CFPM credential is one of three optional paths, not a flat requirement. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rutland, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Rutland permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Rutland?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Rutland, VT need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Rutland, VT, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants6600
Retail stores2240
Food trucks3241
Fitness studios2151
Auto repair shops3152
Salons and barbers3152
Veterinary clinics3152
Childcare centres2062
Contractors and trades4064

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Food and Lodging — the Vermont Department of Health's own current page for the statewide licensing of restaurants, food service establishments and mobile units under 18 V.S.A. ch. 85, the license Burlington businesses hold in place of any city food licenseVermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Vermont Department of Health — retail food establishment application, fee table by category, February 2024Vermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. Vermont Department of Health — Town Health Officer Manual (2024 sections): the ten statutory topic areas for a Town Health Officer (appointments; roles and responsibilities; public health hazards; enforcement tools; animal bites and rabies; infectious diseases; outdoor air quality; drinking water; lead paint; asbestos), naming no food-establishment or restaurant-licensing roleVermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.