14 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Rutland?
In short
A auto repair shop in Rutland, VT has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Building Department | A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop — City of Rutland Position (gasoline service station chapter repealed)only if it applies to you | City of Rutland Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Auto Repair Shop Permits — Vermont DEC Small Business Fact Sheetonly if it applies to you | Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Permit | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | per project | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | one-time, per tenancy change or conveyance | 2026-09-14 |
| Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Rutland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a auto repair shop in Rutland, VT, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Rutland?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Rutland, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department, City of Rutland Building Department, City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Taxes, Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rutland Planning and Zoning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Permit, Development Review Board Application1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7833www.rutlandcity.org/departments/planning-zoning-department
- City of Rutland Building DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland), Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7820www.rutlandcity.org/departments/building-department
- City of Rutland Clerk's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Auto Repair Shop — City of Rutland Position (gasoline service station chapter repealed)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05702 · (802) 773-1800www.rutlandcity.org/departments/clerks-office
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
- Vermont Department of Environmental ConservationIssues 1 permit on this page: Auto Repair Shop Permits — Vermont DEC Small Business Fact Sheet1 National Life Drive, Davis 1, Montpelier, VT 05620dec.vermont.gov
What does a auto repair shop need in Rutland that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Rutland: Auto Repair Shop — City of Rutland Position (gasoline service station chapter repealed) and Auto Repair Shop Permits — Vermont DEC Small Business Fact Sheet.
Auto Repair Shop — City of Rutland Position (gasoline service station chapter repealed)
No city fee applies for auto repair licensing: in the Rutland City Code on eCode360, Title 11 Chapter 9, which licensed gasoline service stations, is annotated 'Repealed by No. 185,' and Title 11's chapter list contains no auto repair chapter. A shop's city obligations are the zoning permit, the building permit for fit-out, the sign permit at $50.00 plus $25.00 per sign, and state Division of Fire Safety review for any construction. Two retail-adjacent chapters were repealed in the same sweep and are noted here for the same pattern: Chapter 15 on jewelry sales at public auction and Chapter 17 on meat selling and slaughtering, both 'Repealed by No. 185,' and Title 17's food and meat chapters, both 'Repealed by No. 203.'
Auto Repair Shop Permits — Vermont DEC Small Business Fact Sheet
No fee is listed for this record. The Department of Environmental Conservation's Small Business Fact Sheet for an auto body shop or automotive repair facility lists the permits most likely required: a wastewater system and potable water supply permit, hazardous waste notification (no fee), storage tank permits for petroleum and waste oil, air pollution control compliance, a possible Act 250 permit for commercial construction, Fire Safety Division review of public buildings, Tier II hazardous-materials reporting, and contacts with the municipality, the Department of Taxes, the Secretary of State and the Agency of Agriculture (gas pumps). The fact sheet names no repair-shop or mechanic occupational license, and states that it is not an all-inclusive list.
Shared with other businesses in Rutland
- Sign Permit — City of Rutland Building Department, A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rutland, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Rutland permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Rutland?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop — City of Rutland Position (gasoline service station chapter repealed) and Auto Repair Shop Permits — Vermont DEC Small Business Fact Sheet. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — City of Rutland Position, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Business Licensing — the City's own current page confirming that the Rutland business license cycle runs May 1 to April 30 and that a restaurant, bar, deli, hotel, circus, show, carnival or peddler must obtain a license from the Clerk's officeCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Code of the City of Rutland, eCode360 RU1248, including legislation through 11-17-2025 — Title 11 (Business Licenses and Registration), including §1510 constituting the license board, §1511 fixing the May 1 expiry, §1512 the fee-setting power, §1534 the entertainment club permit fee, §2071 the peddler requirement and §2261 the restaurant and victualing license; Title 12 §2403 the local meals, rooms and entertainment taxes; Title 15 §2741 fire department cost recoveryCity of Rutland, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- State of Vermont Permit and License Information — auto body shop and automotive repair facility, no dedicated trade licenseVermont Department of Environmental Conservation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
