15 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in South Burlington?
In short
A salon or barber in South Burlington, VT has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in South Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | A permanent sign is $55.00 per sign and a temporary sign is $5.00. Where a sign application requires design review it is charged at $55.00, against $165.00 for all other design review applications. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Salon and Barber Shop — State OPR License Applies (South Burlington)only if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License | Vermont Office of Professional Regulation | $285–$355 $355 for the initial license; renewal is $285 every two years | 2 years, on a fixed expiration date printed on the license | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in South Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | one-time | 2026-09-14 |
| Zoning Permit | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | a zoning permit expires after one year; site plan, conditional use, variance and design review approvals expire after six months under LDR 17.05 | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit (issued by the Fire Marshal, not Planning and Zoning) | City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | not stated in the published resolutions | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | per permit | 2026-09-14 |
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | site plan, conditional use, variance and design review approvals expire after six months under LDR 17.05 | 2026-09-14 |
| General Business License — City of South Burlington positiononly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington City Manager's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in South Burlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in South Burlington, VT, 5 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A permanent sign is $55.00 per sign and a temporary sign is $5.00. Where a sign application requires design review it is charged at $55.00, against $165.00 for all other design review applications.
Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License: $285–$355 $355 for the initial license; renewal is $285 every two years
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the South Burlington permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in South Burlington?
Permits for a salon or barber in South Burlington, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning, City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of South Burlington City Manager's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of South Burlington Department of Planning and ZoningIssues 5 permits on this page, including Certificate of Occupancy, Zoning Permit, Sign Permit180 Market Street, 3rd Floor, South Burlington, VT 05403 · (802) 846-4106www.southburlingtonvt.gov/188/Planning-Zoning
- City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (issued by the Fire Marshal, not Planning and Zoning), Fire Protection System Permit575 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403 · (802) 846-4134www.southburlingtonvt.gov/224/Permit-Applications
- City of South Burlington City Manager's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — City of South Burlington position180 Market Street, South Burlington, VT 05403 · (802) 846-4107www.southburlingtonvt.gov/221
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Office of Professional RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License89 Main Street, 3rd Floor, Montpelier, VT 05620 · (802) 828-1505sos.vermont.gov/opr
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a salon or barber need in South Burlington that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in South Burlington: Salon and Barber Shop — State OPR License Applies (South Burlington) and Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License.
Salon and Barber Shop — State OPR License Applies (South Burlington)
No fee applies at city level: the City's City Permits, Licenses, and Registrations page names no salon license, and salon and barber licensing is by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation's Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Under the 2026 Land Development Regulations a salon is not a distinct zoning use either — Appendix C folds 'personal services (e.g. hair salons, studio-based fitness instruction, art workshops)' into Consumer-Facing Commercial alongside retail and restaurants, scaled by floor area rather than by trade. A salon's city obligations are the zoning permit, the certificate of occupancy, the Fire Marshal's building permit for fit-out and the $55.00 sign permit.
Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License
Every shop needs its own distinct license — a mobile facility included — regardless of common ownership with any other location. The $355/$285 figures come from multiple independent secondary sources rather than a directly confirmed primary fee schedule, since the licensing board's own PDF could not be reached during this research; the requirement itself and its two-year term are confirmed directly from the state's administrative rule text.
Shared with other businesses in South Burlington
- Sign Permit — City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning, A permanent sign is $55.00 per sign and a temporary sign is $5.00. Where a sign application requires design review it is charged at $55.00, against $165.00 for all other design review applications., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in South Burlington, VT; what each one involves is set out on the South Burlington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in South Burlington?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon and Barber Shop — State OPR License Applies (South Burlington) and Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — City of South Burlington position, which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the South Burlington permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City Permits, Licenses and Registrations — the City's own complete enumeration of what it issues, establishing that South Burlington has no general business licenseCity of South Burlington · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Code of Vermont Rules 04-030-030 — barbering and cosmetology shop licensing and two-year termVermont Office of Professional Regulation, mirrored by Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
