Commercial Compliance Hub

Rutland

City of Rutland Building Department

In short

City of Rutland Building Department issues 5 permits we publish for Rutland, last verified 2026-09-14. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Contractor Licensing — City of Rutland Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Rutland Building DepartmentNo feenot applicable at city level2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Rutland Building DepartmentA $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland)City of Rutland Building DepartmentThe Vermont Division of Fire Safety charges $8.00 per $1,000 of total project valuation for public building construction plan review, with a $50 minimum fee. Separate state permits apply to sprinkler, alarm, suppression, exhaust hood, tank and tent work.per project2026-09-14
Building PermitCity of Rutland Building DepartmentA $50.00 application fee plus ancillary fees by structure type: primary structures and attached structures at $0.20 per square foot, accessory structures at $0.15 per square foot, sheds of 200 square feet or less at $25.00, outdoor hot tubs at $25.00, above-ground pools at $25.00 and in-ground pools at $100.00. A permit revision is $25.00 and a demolition permit is $50.00. Recording is charged as prescribed by the Vermont legislature. After-the-fact permitting is double the application fee and the ancillary fees. Vacant property registration is $100.00.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)City of Rutland Building DepartmentA change of tenancy in a residential property is $25.00 and a real estate transaction or conveyance is $100.00. An after-the-fact certificate is five times the permitting fee, not to exceed $500.00, and urgent scheduling is charged at double. Short-term rental registration is $375.00.one-time, per tenancy change or conveyance2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Contractor Licensing — City of Rutland Position

No city fee applies for contractor licensing: the chapter list of Title 11 (Business Licenses and Registration) of the Rutland City Code on eCode360 contains no contractor chapter, and Title 11 Chapter 28, which covered construction trailers, is annotated 'Repealed by No. 185.' The chapter list of Title 9 (Buildings) likewise contains no contractor registration chapter, and its plumbing chapter (§1251, 'Enforcement of State Regulations by Rutland Board of Health') applies State rules rather than establishing a local credential. A contractor's obligations in Rutland are therefore per-project: the building permit at $50.00 plus $0.20 per square foot, the zoning permit where the work changes a use, and — because Rutland holds no cooperative fire inspection agreement — state Division of Fire Safety plan review at $8.00 per $1,000 of project valuation.

Sign Permit

The Sign Ordinance's trigger is unusually broad and worth quoting because it catches changes that are not new signs at all: §III provides that 'The Building Inspector must issue a Sign Permit before any sign is installed, erected, enlarged, replaced, reworded, redesigned or altered.' Rewording an existing sign — changing a business name on an existing board — requires a permit. Signs in District A additionally go to the Architectural Review Committee.

Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland)

Vermont's Division of Fire Safety publishes the list of municipalities holding cooperative fire inspection agreements; Burlington and South Burlington are on it and Rutland City is not, so the State rather than the City performs public building plan review and inspection here. Rutland's own Fire Department publishes no permit or inspection fee schedule; Title 15 §2741 authorises the department to recover only 'direct costs associated with non-emergency services' at hourly rates submitted to the Board of Aldermen each July 1, and those rates are not published online. A restaurant installing a kitchen hood in Rutland therefore deals with the State on the suppression system, not the City.

Building Permit

Rutland prices building work by floor area rather than by construction valuation, which makes a fit-out in an existing shell relatively cheap: a 3,000 square foot commercial space is $50.00 plus $600.00 rather than a percentage of project cost. The schedule is dated 2023, and the City's live Building Department, Building Permits and Certificates of Occupancy pages still link this document as the fee schedule. The doubling penalty for after-the-fact permitting applies to the ancillary fees as well as the application fee, so on a large space it is a substantial charge.

Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)

Rutland uses the certificate of occupancy as a tenancy and conveyance instrument, and that matters for a commercial tenant. The City describes the triggers itself: 'A Certificate of Occupancy is required for the following situations: Rental properties; anytime there is a change of tenant(s)… Selling or purchasing of a property/transfer of ownership · Refinancing · Completion of a Building Permit.' It is a tenancy and conveyance instrument rather than a commercial fit-out sign-off, and the published fee lines reflect that. The fee schedule's 'Certificates of Occupancy Permits' section has exactly six lines: Change of Tenancy (Residential) $25.00 — priced, per the schedule's own footnote, 'for each dwelling unit' being inspected — Real Estate Transaction/Conveyance $100.00, After-the-Fact Permitting (5x the permitting fee, capped at $500.00), Urgent Scheduling (double), Cancellation During a Scheduled Appointment (forfeits the fee), and Short-Term Rental Registration $375.00 (which itself waives the separate annual Certificate of Occupancy fee). None of the six is a commercial change-of-use fee, and none is billed specifically to the 'Completion of a Building Permit' trigger the City's own page names — that trigger's own charge, if any, is not stated anywhere in the published schedule. A commercial tenant completing a Building Permit should ask the Building Department directly which of these lines, if any, applies.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Rutland
Phone
(802) 774-7820

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Business Licensing — the City's own current page confirming that the Rutland business license cycle runs May 1 to April 30 and that a restaurant, bar, deli, hotel, circus, show, carnival or peddler must obtain a license from the Clerk's officeCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. City of Rutland 2023 Fee Schedule, effective January 1, 2023 and approved by the Board of Aldermen on August 15, 2022 — building and zoning permit application fees, per-square-foot ancillary fees, sign permits, certificates of occupancy, demolition, vacant property registration, after-the-fact permitting and Development Review Board fees; still the schedule linked from the City's live Building Department pagesCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Code of the City of Rutland, eCode360 RU1248, including legislation through 11-17-2025 — Title 11 (Business Licenses and Registration), including §1510 constituting the license board, §1511 fixing the May 1 expiry, §1512 the fee-setting power, §1534 the entertainment club permit fee, §2071 the peddler requirement and §2261 the restaurant and victualing license; Title 12 §2403 the local meals, rooms and entertainment taxes; Title 15 §2741 fire department cost recoveryCity of Rutland, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  4. Municipal Inspection Agreements — the Vermont Division of Fire Safety's own list of municipalities holding cooperative fire inspection agreements, which includes Burlington and South Burlington but not Rutland City, establishing that the State retains public building plan review and inspection in RutlandVermont Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14

Other offices serving Rutland

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Vermont jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.