13 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Rutland?
In short
A retail store in Rutland, VT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 7 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Building Department | A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license) | City of Rutland Clerk's Office | Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00. | annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Permit | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | per project | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | one-time, per tenancy change or conveyance | 2026-09-14 |
| Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Rutland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a retail store in Rutland, VT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
7 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.
Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license): Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Rutland?
Permits for a retail store in Rutland, VT come from 5 separate offices: City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department, City of Rutland Building Department, City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rutland Planning and Zoning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Permit, Development Review Board Application1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7833www.rutlandcity.org/departments/planning-zoning-department
- City of Rutland Building DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland), Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7820www.rutlandcity.org/departments/building-department
- City of Rutland Clerk's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05702 · (802) 773-1800www.rutlandcity.org/departments/clerks-office
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a retail store need in Rutland that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Rutland
- Sign Permit — City of Rutland Building Department, A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license) — City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00., annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rutland, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Rutland permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Rutland?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A coffee shop needs Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License, Entertainment Club Permit, Food Establishment License and Certified Food Protection Manager, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 6 | 2 | 0 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 2 | 0 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
