Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Burlington?

In short

A salon or barber in Burlington, VT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Burlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Salon and Barber Shop — State-Licensed; City Zoning Only (Burlington)only if it applies to youCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsA $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Barbering or Cosmetology Shop LicenseVermont Office of Professional Regulation$285–$355 $355 for the initial license; renewal is $285 every two years2 years, on a fixed expiration date printed on the license2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Burlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Burlington Position (24 V.S.A. § 2291)only if it applies to youCity of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's OfficeNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pageone-time per application2026-09-14
Zoning Permit (required for change of use, not only construction)City of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-14
Zoning Certificate of OccupancyCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pageone-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited by its own terms2026-09-14
Building PermitCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsVaries — formula on the Burlington pagea building permit becomes invalid after three years under Code §8-272026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety InspectionCity of Burlington Office of the City Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Burlington pageper inspection cycle2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

VT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$155 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$155 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$45 a yearannual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitVermont Department of TaxesNo feeno expiration — no renewal required2026-09-04
Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division$60 a yearannual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer2026-09-04
General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to youVermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Burlington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Burlington, VT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00.

Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License: $285–$355 $355 for the initial license; renewal is $285 every two years

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Burlington?

Permits for a salon or barber in Burlington, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office, City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, City of Burlington Office of the City Fire Marshal, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Burlington that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Burlington: Salon and Barber Shop — State-Licensed; City Zoning Only (Burlington) and Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License.

Salon and Barber Shop — State-Licensed; City Zoning Only (Burlington)

No fee applies: 24 V.S.A. § 2291 grants Burlington no power to license salons, and the Clerk/Treasurer's Business Licenses page lists no salon license. The trade appears in the CDO use table as 'Salon/Spa' and nowhere else in the City's ordinances. Practitioners and shops are regulated by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation's Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. A salon's city obligations are the zoning permit, the zoning certificate of occupancy, building and trade permits, the sign permit and the fire and life safety inspection.

Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License

Every shop needs its own distinct license — a mobile facility included — regardless of common ownership with any other location. The $355/$285 figures come from multiple independent secondary sources rather than a directly confirmed primary fee schedule, since the licensing board's own PDF could not be reached during this research; the requirement itself and its two-year term are confirmed directly from the state's administrative rule text.

Shared with other businesses in Burlington

  • Sign Permit — City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Burlington, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Burlington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Burlington?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon and Barber Shop — State-Licensed; City Zoning Only (Burlington) and Barbering or Cosmetology Shop License. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — City Zoning and Permits Only (Burlington), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Burlington, VT, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Retail stores2121
Auto repair shops3122
Veterinary clinics3122
Coffee shops5124
Restaurants5124
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business Licenses — the Clerk/Treasurer's own current index, listing the only four licenses the City issues (cannabis, liquor, peddler, taxi) and establishing that Burlington has no general business licenseCity of Burlington · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Code of Vermont Rules 04-030-030 — barbering and cosmetology shop licensing and two-year termVermont Office of Professional Regulation, mirrored by Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.