17 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Rutland?
In short
A restaurant in Rutland, VT has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Rutland Clerk's Office charges $50 per permit, paid to the City Clerk on the granting of the permit by the Board of Aldermen for the entertainment club permit. 9 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Building Department | A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License | City of Rutland Clerk's Office | On the City's own e-forms fee table a restaurant license is $65.00 for a new application and $40.00 to renew. The same table lists 'Business with Lunchroom' and 'Victualing Establishment' as separate rows priced 'N/A,' so which line applies to a business that is not plainly a restaurant is not resolved by the published table. A business carrying on several licensed activities at once takes a blank license, priced on the table as 'Determined on an Individual Basis.' All figures carry the City's own disclaimer that they are an estimate pending departmental review. | the license year runs May 1 to April 30 — §1511 provides that all Title 11 licenses continue in force until the first day of May next following the date of issue | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license) | City of Rutland Clerk's Office | Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00. | annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health | 2026-09-14 |
| Entertainment Club Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Clerk's Office | $50 per permit, paid to the City Clerk on the granting of the permit by the Board of Aldermen | under §1511 all Title 11 licenses continue in force until the first day of May following issue | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Establishment License | Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program | $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more | 1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program | No fee | not applicable — a CFPM credential is one of three optional paths, not a flat requirement | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rutland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Permit | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | per project | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland) | City of Rutland Building Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | one-time, per tenancy change or conveyance | 2026-09-14 |
| Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department | Varies — formula on the Rutland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Rutland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a restaurant in Rutland, VT, 8 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
9 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $50.00 application fee plus a $25.00 ancillary fee per sign.
Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License: On the City's own e-forms fee table a restaurant license is $65.00 for a new application and $40.00 to renew. The same table lists 'Business with Lunchroom' and 'Victualing Establishment' as separate rows priced 'N/A,' so which line applies to a business that is not plainly a restaurant is not resolved by the published table. A business carrying on several licensed activities at once takes a blank license, priced on the table as 'Determined on an Individual Basis.' All figures carry the City's own disclaimer that they are an estimate pending departmental review.
Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license): Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.
Food Establishment License: $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Rutland?
Permits for a restaurant in Rutland, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of Rutland Planning and Zoning Department, City of Rutland Building Department, City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rutland Planning and Zoning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Permit, Development Review Board Application1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7833www.rutlandcity.org/departments/planning-zoning-department
- City of Rutland Building DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Fire and Life Safety Plan Review and Inspection (state-administered in Rutland), Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (a tenancy and conveyance instrument in Rutland)1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05701 · (802) 774-7820www.rutlandcity.org/departments/building-department
- City of Rutland Clerk's OfficeIssues 3 permits on this page: Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License, Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license), Entertainment Club Permit1 Strongs Avenue, Rutland, VT 05702 · (802) 773-1800www.rutlandcity.org/departments/clerks-office
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment License, Certified Food Protection Manager280 State Drive, Waterbury, VT 05671 · (802) 863-7221www.healthvermont.gov/environment/food-lodging-program/retail-food-service-establishments
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a restaurant need in Rutland that other businesses do not?
Sign Permit
The Sign Ordinance's trigger is unusually broad and worth quoting because it catches changes that are not new signs at all: §III provides that 'The Building Inspector must issue a Sign Permit before any sign is installed, erected, enlarged, replaced, reworded, redesigned or altered.' Rewording an existing sign — changing a business name on an existing board — requires a permit. Signs in District A additionally go to the Architectural Review Committee.
Restaurant and Victualing Establishment License
Rutland's charter lets it license restaurants, a power beyond the two licensing powers 24 V.S.A. § 2291 gives ordinary Vermont municipalities. The requirement is unambiguous and the City states it plainly on its own page: 'If you are interested in opening a restaurant, bar, deli, hotel or want to have a circus, show or carnival or a peddler's license, you must obtain a business from our office.' Two caveats are recorded rather than smoothed over. First, sourcing: §1512 provides, verbatim, that 'License fees shall be set by the board of aldermen. A license fee shall be established for new licenses and renewal licenses. A new license fee shall include an additional amount for background check, police investigation and processing. A current list of fees will be posted in the office of the city clerk.' That list is not published online, and the Code (current through 11-17-2025) states no amounts, so the $65.00 and $40.00 figures come from the City's own GovPilot e-forms application, which labels them an estimate. A new license is dearer than a renewal by design, because §1512 folds the background check and police investigation into the new-license fee. Note also the term: licenses under Title 11 'shall continue and be in force until the first day of May next following the date thereof, unless otherwise provided in the fee schedule,' with a pro-rated fee for licenses issued on or after January 1 for the remainder of the license year. Second, classification: the same table prices 'Restaurant' but marks 'Business with Lunchroom' and 'Victualing Establishment' as N/A, so the published table does not place a coffee shop or deli on a specific line; the restaurant figure is shown here, and a lighter food business should confirm its classification with the City Clerk's office. A change of ownership counts as a new license and triggers a police background investigation; the City's older published background-check figure of $30.00 has been removed from the live page and is not recorded here. Separately and in addition, the establishment holds a Vermont Department of Health food license, recorded as a separate entry.
Entertainment Club Permit
The fee is small but the pre-conditions are substantial, and they reach a restaurant adding live entertainment. Section 1532 conditions the grant on a Building Inspector inspection, a Fire Department fire code inspection, and a Treasurer's statement that the applicant's rooms, meals and entertainment taxes, water and sewer fees and parking fines are all paid. The Treasurer's clearance is the one most likely to delay an application, because Rutland administers its own local meals, rooms and entertainment taxes monthly rather than leaving them to the State, so an establishment behind on a monthly filing cannot obtain the permit until it is current.
Certified Food Protection Manager
No fee, because Vermont does not flatly require this credential — its regulation lets the person in charge demonstrate the required food safety knowledge any of three ways: holding a certified food protection manager credential, complying with the food code generally, or simply answering an inspector's questions correctly. The state's own license application form carries an explicit checkbox for having no certified manager, confirming the credential is one valid option rather than a universal mandate.
Shared with other businesses in Rutland
- Food Service Establishment License (state-issued, in addition to the city victualing license) — City of Rutland Clerk's Office, Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00., annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more, 1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rutland, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Rutland permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Rutland?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Rutland, VT need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 4 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 6 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rutland permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Rutland 2023 Fee Schedule, effective January 1, 2023 and approved by the Board of Aldermen on August 15, 2022 — building and zoning permit application fees, per-square-foot ancillary fees, sign permits, certificates of occupancy, demolition, vacant property registration, after-the-fact permitting and Development Review Board fees; still the schedule linked from the City's live Building Department pagesCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- City of Rutland e-forms portal (GovPilot, the City's contracted permit vendor, linked from the City's Clerk, Building and Building Permits pages) — the Business Registration form, the only publication anywhere of the Title 11 licence fee amounts, carrying the City's own disclaimer that the fees are an estimate pending departmental reviewCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Code of the City of Rutland, eCode360 RU1248, including legislation through 11-17-2025 — Title 11 (Business Licenses and Registration), including §1510 constituting the license board, §1511 fixing the May 1 expiry, §1512 the fee-setting power, §1534 the entertainment club permit fee, §2071 the peddler requirement and §2261 the restaurant and victualing license; Title 12 §2403 the local meals, rooms and entertainment taxes; Title 15 §2741 fire department cost recoveryCity of Rutland, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Business Licensing — the City's own current page confirming that the Rutland business license cycle runs May 1 to April 30 and that a restaurant, bar, deli, hotel, circus, show, carnival or peddler must obtain a license from the Clerk's officeCity of Rutland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- 24 V.S.A. ch. 61, § 2291 (Enumeration of powers) — the statute limiting Vermont municipalities to licensing itinerant vendors and peddlers under subsection (9) and circuses, shows and paid entertainments under subsection (11)Vermont General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Vermont Health Regulations for Food Service Establishments — the three alternative paths to demonstrating food safety knowledgeVermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
