19 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Plano?
In short
A retail store in Plano, TX has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Plano Building Inspections Department charges $100 per year for the contractor registration. 9 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Plano
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor Registration | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary Sales and Seasonal Vendor Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | $120 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $160–$270 first or additional pool | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $275–$475 new construction or remodel | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $50 per booth | event-specific; duration not stated in the schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Re-inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $80 per required inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Retail Food Store Permit | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $295–$750 by risk type | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Fire Plan Check | Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention | $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $240–$640 by risk type | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Flammable Liquid and LP Gas Storage Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention | $275 per tank | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $40 per test report | annual where testing is required | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Plano
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing)only if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | $140 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Plan Review Deposit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Plano?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a retail store in Plano, TX, 10 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 10 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit: $160–$270 first or additional pool
Food Establishment Plan Review: $275–$475 new construction or remodel
Retail Food Store Permit: $295–$750 by risk type
Fire Plan Check: $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that
Food Establishment Permit: $240–$640 by risk type
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Plano permits page and the TX state page.
Is Plano expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Plano sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Plano charges $140. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 14 charge less and 7 charge more.
Food Establishment Re-inspection: Plano charges $80. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Allen to $200 in Bell County, with a median of $100. 1 charges less and 3 charge more.
Contractor Registration: Plano charges $100. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. 2 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Plano?
Permits for a retail store in Plano, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Plano Building Inspections Department, City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including Contractor Registration, Temporary Sales and Seasonal Vendor Permit, Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing)1520 K Avenue, Plano, TX 75074www.plano.gov/building-inspections
- City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit, Food Establishment Plan Review, Temporary Food Establishment Permit4120 W Plano Parkway, Plano, TX 75093www.plano.gov/environmental-health-division
- Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire PreventionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Plan Check, Flammable Liquid and LP Gas Storage Tank Permit4120 W Plano Parkway, Plano, TX 75093www.plano.gov/existing-building-fire-inspections
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Plano that other businesses do not?
Temporary Sales and Seasonal Vendor Permit
$120 for temporary, seasonal or itinerant vending, issued by Building Inspections rather than by Environmental Health — so a seasonal food operation may need this and a temporary food permit from a different department. A tent permit is $100 and a trailer permit $100.
Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit
$270 for a swimming pool, spa or public interactive water feature, and $160 for each additional one inside the same enclosure — so a hotel with a pool and a spa together pays $430 rather than $540. Pool plan review is charged separately at $575, which is $100 more than food establishment plan review and the largest single review fee on this schedule.
Food Establishment Plan Review
$475 to review plans and specifications for new construction, but only $275 for a remodel, expansion or equipment review where the establishment is already permitted by Environmental Health. That distinction is worth reading carefully before you plan works: if the premises is not currently permitted, the job is treated as new construction and the full $475 applies, so a lapsed permit turns a $275 review into a $475 one. A variance review is $250.
Food Establishment Permit
Four risk types, defined by the FDA's Voluntary National Retail Food Regulatory Program Standards rather than by size: Type I $240 for prepackaged non-TCS food or heating commercially processed food for hot holding with no cooling; Type II $430 where food is mostly prepared and served immediately; Type III $590 for an extensive menu with complex cooking, cooling and reheating; Type IV $640 for a highly susceptible population or specialised processes such as smoking, curing or reduced-oxygen packaging. Because the band turns on process rather than turnover, changing your menu can change your fee. Renewing late costs 10 per cent of the permit fee in the first 30 days and 20 per cent from 31 to 60 days, capped at $100. The schedule does not state how long a permit runs.
Flammable Liquid and LP Gas Storage Tank Permit
$275 per tank, whether for a flammable and combustible liquid storage tank and its piping or for a new LP gas storage tank installation. Charged per tank rather than per site, so a filling station or a fleet yard with three tanks pays $825. Outdoor fireworks are $330 and theatrical pyrotechnics $110 an event or $550 a year — the annual option pays for itself at five events.
Shared with other businesses in Plano
- Contractor Registration — City of Plano Building Inspections Department, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for auto repair shops, contractors and trades, restaurants and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $50 per booth, event-specific; duration not stated in the schedule. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Re-inspection — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $80 per required inspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Retail Food Store Permit — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $295–$750 by risk type, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Plan Check — Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that, per review. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $40 per test report, annual where testing is required. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Plano, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Plano permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Plano?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 8 of these permits. A retail store also needs Temporary Sales and Seasonal Vendor Permit, Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit and Flammable Liquid and LP Gas Storage Tank Permit. A restaurant needs Waste Generator Permit (Grease Trap) and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 10 | 8 | 3 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 8 | 7 | 4 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 4 | 7 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 4 | 7 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 3 | 8 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 9 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 10 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 10 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 10 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, coffee shops page, restaurants page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Plano permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule, effective 2 January 2026 (passed 10 November 2025, repealing Ordinance 2020-3-6)City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Plano Exhibit A — Environmental Health & Sustainability Department Fee Schedule, effective 1 September 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Plano Resolution 2025-8-1(R) approving a revised Environmental Health & Sustainability fee schedule, passed 11 August 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Plano Exhibit A — Fire Prevention Fee Schedule, Resolution 2025-9-9(R), effective 1 October 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
