10 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Plano?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Plano, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Plano Building Inspections Department charges $140 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Plano
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department | $40 per test report | annual where testing is required | 2026-08-25 |
| Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | No fee | not yet in effect — rules being written | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Plano
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing)only if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | $140 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Plan Review Deposit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Plano?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Plano, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $140.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Plano permits page and the TX state page.
Is Plano expensive for a veterinary clinic?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Plano sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Plano charges $140. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 14 charge less and 7 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Plano?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Plano, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Plano Building Inspections Department, City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing), Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy1520 K Avenue, Plano, TX 75074www.plano.gov/building-inspections
- City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee4120 W Plano Parkway, Plano, TX 75093www.plano.gov/environmental-health-division
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a veterinary clinic need in Plano that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Plano: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.
Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee
$40 per test report filed with the city, and the city fee is additional to whatever the private tester charges — so the true annual cost is this plus the test itself. Applies where a backflow prevention assembly must be tested annually, which in practice means most commercial kitchens, irrigation systems and fire lines. Section 21-28 of the code requires the fee to be submitted to the backflow program administrator for each assembly tested, payable when the Plano-registered tester files the report. Confirmed at $40 by Ordinance No. 2025-10-11 of October 2025, which raised it from $35 — so a quote based on the older figure will be short.
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027
Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Plano, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Plano permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Plano?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A fitness studio needs Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit, Fire Plan Check and Health Spa Certificate of Registration, which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Coffee shops | 8 | 1 | 1 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 10 | 1 | 1 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 11 | 1 | 1 | 10 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 2 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Plano permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Plano Cross-Connection Control and Backflow PreventionCity of Plano Public Works · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Plano Code of Ordinances section 21-28, inspection, testing and registration of backflow prevention assemblies (fee set at $40 by Ordinance No. 2025-10-11, October 2025)City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
