18 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Odessa?
In short
A retail store in Odessa, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Odessa Fire Marshal's Office charges $150 per annual inspection for the annual fire inspection. 12 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Odessa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed Facility Fire Inspection | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$200 by facility type | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | $100–$300 by permit type | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Food Establishment Permit — Ector County | Ector County Health Department | Two current documents publish different amounts (Odessa Code § 6-6-32 and the Ector County Health Department's October 2025 schedule), so no single figure is shown; the Ector County Health Department states the amount payable. | renewed 1 January each year (Odessa Code § 6-6-33) | 2026-10-09 |
| Moving and Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Odessa Inspection Division | $100 each | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Construction Permitonly if it applies to you | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | $100–$200 by permit type | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Right-of-Way Construction Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Odessa Inspection Division | Banded on estimated construction cost: $25 to $2,000; $25 plus $0.90 per $100 above $2,000; $52 plus $0.80 per $100 above $5,000; $92 plus $0.70 per $100 above $10,000; $162 plus $0.60 per $100 above $20,000. Where the city must establish lines or grades the fee is 5% of construction cost, minimum $25 | per permit | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Odessa
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Sprinkler Permitonly if it applies to you | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Annual Fire Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | $150 per annual inspection | annual | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Odessa Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Remodel and Finish-Out Permit | City of Odessa Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Odessa Inspection Division | $100 change of use, owner or name | the fee schedule charges for a new certificate on a change of use, owner or business name | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Odessa Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Odessa Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | per inspection | 2026-10-09 |
| False Alarm Feeonly if it applies to you | Odessa Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Odessa page | counted 1 January to 31 December | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Odessa?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a retail store in Odessa, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 12 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Licensed Facility Fire Inspection: $50–$200 by facility type
Fire Operational Permit: $100–$300 by permit type
Food Establishment Permit — Ector County: Two current documents publish different amounts (Odessa Code § 6-6-32 and the Ector County Health Department's October 2025 schedule), so no single figure is shown; the Ector County Health Department states the amount payable.
Fire Construction Permit: $100–$200 by permit type
Right-of-Way Construction Permit: Banded on estimated construction cost: $25 to $2,000; $25 plus $0.90 per $100 above $2,000; $52 plus $0.80 per $100 above $5,000; $92 plus $0.70 per $100 above $10,000; $162 plus $0.60 per $100 above $20,000. Where the city must establish lines or grades the fee is 5% of construction cost, minimum $25
The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Odessa permits page and the TX state page.
Is Odessa expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Odessa sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Odessa charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Odessa?
Permits for a retail store in Odessa, TX come from 5 separate offices: Odessa Fire Marshal's Office, Ector County Health Department, City of Odessa Inspection Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Odessa Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 7 permits on this page, including Fire Sprinkler Permit, Licensed Facility Fire Inspection, Fire Alarm Permit307 N. Lee Street, 2nd floor, Odessa, TX · 432-257-0524www.odessa-tx.gov/1229/Fire-Marshals-Office
- Ector County Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment Permit — Ector County221 N. Texas Avenue, Odessa, TX 79761 · 432-498-4144www.ectorcountytx.gov/page/ector.HealthDepartment
- City of Odessa Inspection DivisionIssues 7 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Remodel and Finish-Out Permit, Certificate of Occupancywww.odessa-tx.gov/1222/Building-Inspection-Permits
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Odessa that other businesses do not?
Licensed Facility Fire Inspection
A day care centre is $150, a private school $200, a foster home $50, and a private hospital or nursing home $150 plus $1 per bed. Public schools and jails or youth centres are inspected free. The per-bed charge is the one to model on a large facility: a 120-bed nursing home comes to $270.
Fire Construction Permit
$100 for flammable and combustible liquids, fuel cell power systems, gas detection systems, industrial ovens, plant extraction systems, smoke control or exhaust systems and solar photovoltaic systems. $125 for emergency responder communication coverage, energy storage systems, gates and barricades across fire apparatus access roads, LP-gas and private hydrants. $150 for compressed gases, cryogenic fluids, hazardous materials, high-piled combustible storage and motor vehicle repair rooms and booths. A special event structure or a temporary membrane structure or tent is $200.
Shared with other businesses in Odessa
- Fire Operational Permit — Odessa Fire Marshal's Office, $100–$300 by permit type, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Food Establishment Permit — Ector County — Ector County Health Department, Two current documents publish different amounts (Odessa Code § 6-6-32 and the Ector County Health Department's October 2025 schedule), so no single figure is shown; the Ector County Health Department states the amount payable., renewed 1 January each year (Odessa Code § 6-6-33). Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Moving and Demolition Permit — City of Odessa Inspection Division, $100 each, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Right-of-Way Construction Permit — City of Odessa Inspection Division, Banded on estimated construction cost: $25 to $2,000; $25 plus $0.90 per $100 above $2,000; $52 plus $0.80 per $100 above $5,000; $92 plus $0.70 per $100 above $10,000; $162 plus $0.60 per $100 above $20,000. Where the city must establish lines or grades the fee is 5% of construction cost, minimum $25, per permit. Also required for contractors and trades, restaurants and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Odessa, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Odessa permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Odessa?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 4 of these permits. A retail store also needs Licensed Facility Fire Inspection and Food Establishment Permit — Ector County. A contractor or trade needs Commercial Plumbing Permit and Electrical Contractor License, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 4 | 2 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 9 | 5 | 1 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 3 | 3 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 2 | 4 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 6 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page, coffee shops page and contractors and trades page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Odessa permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fire Marshal Fee Schedule (2021 International Fire Code)Odessa Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
