Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Plano?

In short

A fitness studio in Plano, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Plano Building Inspections Department charges $140 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Plano

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature PermitCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$160–$270 first or additional poolnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Fire Plan CheckPlano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention$0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above thatper review2026-08-25
Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$40 per test reportannual where testing is required2026-08-25
Health Spa Certificate of RegistrationTexas Secretary of State$100 per location, per yearannual2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Plano

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing)only if it applies to youCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Commercial Building PermitCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Plano Building Inspections Department$140 per certificatenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Commercial Plan Review DepositCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pageper review2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Plano?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Plano, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit: $160–$270 first or additional pool

Fire Plan Check: $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Plano permits page and the TX state page.

Is Plano expensive for a fitness studio?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Plano sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Plano charges $140. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 14 charge less and 7 charge more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Plano?

Permits for a fitness studio in Plano, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, City of Plano Building Inspections Department, Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Plano that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Plano: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.

Health Spa Certificate of Registration

Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.

Shared with other businesses in Plano

  • Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $160–$270 first or additional pool, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Fire Plan Check — Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that, per review. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, childcare centres and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $40 per test report, annual where testing is required. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Plano, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Plano permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Plano?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit and Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A auto repair shop needs Contractor Registration, Waste Generator Permit (Grease Trap) and Flammable Liquid and LP Gas Storage Tank Permit, which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Plano, TX, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops5223
Retail stores11318
Coffee shops8226
Veterinary clinics2131
Childcare centres3132
Restaurants10228
Contractors and trades6135
Food trucks3043
Salons and barbers2042

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, coffee shops page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Plano permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.