11 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Plano?
In short
A childcare centre in Plano, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Plano Building Inspections Department charges $140 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Plano
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Plan Check | Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention | $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| In-Home Daycare Permit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | $75 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Plano
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing)only if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | $140 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Plan Review Deposit | City of Plano Building Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Plano page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Plano?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Plano, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $215.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Plan Check: $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Plano permits page and the TX state page.
Is Plano expensive for a childcare centre?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Plano sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Plano charges $140. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 14 charge less and 7 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Plano?
Permits for a childcare centre in Plano, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Plano Building Inspections Department, Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentIssues 6 permits on this page, including Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing), Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy1520 K Avenue, Plano, TX 75074www.plano.gov/building-inspections
- Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire PreventionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Plan Check4120 W Plano Parkway, Plano, TX 75093www.plano.gov/existing-building-fire-inspections
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Plano that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Plano: In-Home Daycare Permit and Child Care License.
In-Home Daycare Permit
$75 a year from Building Inspections. Plano Fire-Rescue charges its own separate in-home daycare fee of $55 a year under the fire schedule, so the real annual cost to a home daycare is $130 across two departments — the schedules publish them independently and neither mentions the other. Both sit on top of the state license from Texas Health and Human Services.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
Shared with other businesses in Plano
- Fire Plan Check — Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that, per review. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Plano, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Plano permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Plano?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs In-Home Daycare Permit and Child Care License. A fitness studio needs Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit, Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee and Health Spa Certificate of Registration, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Coffee shops | 8 | 1 | 2 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 10 | 1 | 2 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 11 | 1 | 2 | 10 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Plano permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Plano Building Inspections Department Fee Schedule, effective 2 January 2026 (passed 10 November 2025, repealing Ordinance 2020-3-6)City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
