Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Plano?

In short

A coffee shop in Plano, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department charges $50 per booth for the temporary food establishment permit. 8 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Plano

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment Plan ReviewCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$275–$475 new construction or remodelper review2026-08-25
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$50 per boothevent-specific; duration not stated in the schedule2026-08-25
Food Establishment Re-inspectiononly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$80 per required inspectionper inspection2026-08-25
Retail Food Store PermitCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$295–$750 by risk typenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Fire Plan CheckPlano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention$0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above thatper review2026-08-25
Waste Generator Permit (Grease Trap)only if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$60 per trapnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Food Establishment PermitCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$240–$640 by risk typenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$40 per test reportannual where testing is required2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Plano

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Trade Permit (Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing)only if it applies to youCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Commercial Building PermitCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Plano Building Inspections Department$140 per certificatenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Commercial Plan Review DepositCity of Plano Building Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Plano pageper review2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Plano?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a coffee shop in Plano, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $140.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Plan Review: $275–$475 new construction or remodel

Retail Food Store Permit: $295–$750 by risk type

Fire Plan Check: $0.039 per sq ft of building area up to 100,000 sq ft (minimum $66); $3,850 for the first 100,000 plus $0.019 per additional sq ft to 300,000; $7,590 for the first 300,000 plus $0.011 per additional sq ft above that

Food Establishment Permit: $240–$640 by risk type

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Plano permits page and the TX state page.

Is Plano expensive for a coffee shop?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Plano sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Plano charges $140. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 14 charge less and 7 charge more.

Food Establishment Re-inspection: Plano charges $80. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Allen to $200 in Bell County, with a median of $100. 1 charges less and 3 charge more.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Plano charges $50. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $51. 1 charges less, 4 charge more and 2 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Plano?

Permits for a coffee shop in Plano, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, City of Plano Building Inspections Department, Plano Fire-Rescue, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Plano that other businesses do not?

Temporary Food Establishment Permit

$50 per booth, and a further $50 if the application arrives fewer than five business days before the event — a late fee equal to the permit itself, which makes the five-day deadline the thing to diarise. A farm stand, meaning one separate from a market or selling from the farmer's own farm, is a distinct permit at $100.

Food Establishment Re-inspection

$80 for a re-inspection following a critical violation, or for any other required compliance inspection. Cheap against Garland and McKinney at $200, and the same $80 applies to a swimming pool re-inspection. A food handler class is $10, but note the schedule calls that a class instruction fee rather than a permit or card fee.

Fire Plan Check

Charged on building area rather than project value, which is unusual and makes it predictable early: a 5,000 square foot restaurant pays $195, and the $66 minimum only bites below about 1,700 square feet. Where a fire protection contractor is the only contractor on site the fee is halved, subject to a $110 minimum. Expedited review is $137.50. New construction re-inspections escalate at $82.50, $110, $110 and then $137.50 each, and must be paid before a building inspection final can be scheduled. After-hours and same-day inspections are $82.50 an hour with a $165 minimum.

Shared with other businesses in Plano

  • Food Establishment Plan Review — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $275–$475 new construction or remodel, per review. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Retail Food Store Permit — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $295–$750 by risk type, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Waste Generator Permit (Grease Trap) — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $60 per trap, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $240–$640 by risk type, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $40 per test report, annual where testing is required. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Plano, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Plano permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Plano?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 8 of these permits. A restaurant needs Contractor Registration and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Plano, TX, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants10802
Retail stores11714
Auto repair shops5352
Fitness studios4262
Veterinary clinics2171
Childcare centres3172
Food trucks3172
Contractors and trades6175
Salons and barbers2082

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, restaurants page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Plano permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Plano Exhibit A — Environmental Health & Sustainability Department Fee Schedule, effective 1 September 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
  2. City of Plano Exhibit A — Fire Prevention Fee Schedule, Resolution 2025-9-9(R), effective 1 October 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.