Commercial Compliance Hub

26 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Pasadena?

In short

A retail store in Pasadena, TX has 12 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 14 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office charges $100 per year, renewal $50 for the commercial fire alarm permit. 12 of the 26 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Pasadena

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly OccupancyCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office$250–$500 per year, by occupant loadone year, renewed annually2026-08-24
Commercial Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office$100 per year, renewal $50one year2026-08-24
Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$100 per commercial demolition30 days, or the duration of the remodel project2026-08-24
Electrical Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$40–$75 per circuit, by sign typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Food Establishment PermitCity of Pasadena Public Health Department$260–$460 per year, by risk categoryone permitted year2026-08-24
Temporary Utility Releaseonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50 per 90-day releaseup to 90 days, renewable in further 90-day periods2026-08-24
Commercial Exhaust Hood Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50–$100 per hood, by classnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Public Health Department$52 for 1 to 14 days1 to 14 days2026-08-24
Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Multi-Family, Hotel or MotelCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office$200–$400 per year, by dwelling unitsone year, renewed annually2026-08-24
Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Letter of Completiononly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Fence Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$100 per 1,000 linear feet or part thereof, plus the application fee; storage lot fences $100 per 500 linear feetnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Paving and Parking Repair Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$60 minimum, per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Temporary Membrane Structure and Tent Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office$125 per permitper event2026-08-24
High Pile Storage Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office$475–$700 per yearone year, renewed annually2026-08-24
Commercial Roofing Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50 per structure, plus the $10 application feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Swimming Pool LicenseCity of Pasadena Public Health Department$100 per yearone year2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Pasadena

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Electrical Service PermitCity of Pasadena Permit DepartmentVaries — formula on the Pasadena pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Annual Fire and Life Safety InspectionCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Pasadena pageannual2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy — Change of Use or OccupancyCity of Pasadena Permit Department$150 per application, covering the inspectionsdoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy Issued With a Building PermitCity of Pasadena Permit Department$50 added to the permit and plan review feesdoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy2026-08-24
Fire Plan Review — BuildingCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Pasadena pageone-time, per review2026-08-24
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Pasadena Permit DepartmentVaries — formula on the Pasadena pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Pasadena Permit DepartmentVaries — formula on the Pasadena pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Pasadena?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 26 records listed for a retail store in Pasadena, TX, 12 apply to every business of this type and 14 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 12 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $300.00. That is a floor, not a total. 12 of the 26 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy: $250–$500 per year, by occupant load

Electrical Sign Permit: $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type

Food Establishment Permit: $260–$460 per year, by risk category

Commercial Exhaust Hood Permit: $50–$100 per hood, by class

Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Multi-Family, Hotel or Motel: $200–$400 per year, by dwelling units

Commercial Fence Permit: $100 per 1,000 linear feet or part thereof, plus the application fee; storage lot fences $100 per 500 linear feet

High Pile Storage Permit: $475–$700 per year

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page.

Is Pasadena expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Pasadena sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Pasadena charges $52. Across 7 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $50. 4 charge less, 1 charges more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Temporary Food Establishment Permit varies by $27 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Pasadena?

Permits for a retail store in Pasadena, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Pasadena Permit Department, City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, City of Pasadena Public Health Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Pasadena that other businesses do not?

1 of the 16 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Pasadena: Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Multi-Family, Hotel or Motel.

Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy

$250 for an occupant load of 1 to 99, $350 for 99 to 299, and $500 for 300 or more — an annual, recurring cost that catches every restaurant, bar, gym and event space in the city. Most Texas cities inspect assembly occupancies without charging a standing permit fee, so this is a real difference in the cost of operating in Pasadena rather than a paperwork difference. An occupant load evaluation, if you need the number established, is $100.

Food Establishment Permit

$260 low risk, $360 medium, $460 high, with the risk category set by health department staff rather than declared by the applicant. The permit is non-transferable and non-refundable, and it remains the property of the City of Pasadena Health Department — it is revoked, not surrendered, if the establishment stops complying. Sec. 15-22 makes it unlawful to construct, operate or maintain a food establishment in the city without one, so the offence covers building the kitchen as well as running it. A late renewal adds $100.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit

$52 for 1 to 14 days, non-transferable and non-refundable — the same figure the Texas DSHS standard schedule uses, and the same as Arlington and Waco charge, which makes temporary food one of the few genuinely uniform fees in the state. The application restricts the permit to the foods listed on it, prohibits anything prepared in a home kitchen, and requires all food to be prepared on site or at an approved food service facility.

Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Multi-Family, Hotel or Motel

$200 for 3 to 20 dwelling units and $400 for 21 or more. Flat above 21 units, so a 24-unit motel and a 300-unit apartment complex pay the same — which makes this proportionally expensive for a small property and cheap for a large one.

Commercial Fence Permit

$100 per 1,000 linear feet for a commercial fence, but $100 per 500 feet — double the rate — for a commercial storage lot fence. Repair and replacement in identical materials at the exact same location and elevation is exempt, unless the fence is already in violation of another provision.

Paving and Parking Repair Permit

A $60 minimum covers asphalt patching, potholes, and curb and concrete repair. The trap is the threshold: repairs or improvements at or over 50% of the existing area force the whole lot up to current off-street paving, parking and drainage requirements — landscaping and parking count at existing business locations excepted. Splitting a resurfacing into phases to stay under the line is a decision worth making deliberately rather than discovering.

Shared with other businesses in Pasadena

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Pasadena, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Pasadena permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Pasadena?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 12 of these permits. A retail store also needs Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Multi-Family, Hotel or Motel, Commercial Fence Permit, High Pile Storage Permit and Swimming Pool License. A restaurant needs Liquid Waste Transporter Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Pasadena, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants141242
Coffee shops10971
Fitness studios65111
Auto repair shops75112
Contractors and trades85113
Food trucks32141
Veterinary clinics32141
Salons and barbers21151
Childcare centres31152

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page, contractors and trades page, restaurants page, coffee shops page, fitness studios page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Fee Schedule — Sec. 13-12 Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit, Special Use Permits, and Inspections FeesCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Food Establishment Permit Application, revised January 2026City of Pasadena Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  3. Temporary Food Establishment Permit Application, revised January 2026City of Pasadena Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  4. Fee Schedule — building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permit feesCity of Pasadena Permit Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.