Commercial Compliance Hub

Plano

City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department

In short

City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department issues 8 permits we publish for Plano, last verified 2026-08-25. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature PermitCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$160–$270 first or additional poolnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Food Establishment Plan ReviewCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$275–$475 new construction or remodelper review2026-08-25
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$50 per boothevent-specific; duration not stated in the schedule2026-08-25
Food Establishment Re-inspectiononly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$80 per required inspectionper inspection2026-08-25
Retail Food Store PermitCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$295–$750 by risk typenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Waste Generator Permit (Grease Trap)only if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$60 per trapnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Food Establishment PermitCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$240–$640 by risk typenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$40 per test reportannual where testing is required2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit

$270 for a swimming pool, spa or public interactive water feature, and $160 for each additional one inside the same enclosure — so a hotel with a pool and a spa together pays $430 rather than $540. Pool plan review is charged separately at $575, which is $100 more than food establishment plan review and the largest single review fee on this schedule.

Food Establishment Plan Review

$475 to review plans and specifications for new construction, but only $275 for a remodel, expansion or equipment review where the establishment is already permitted by Environmental Health. That distinction is worth reading carefully before you plan works: if the premises is not currently permitted, the job is treated as new construction and the full $475 applies, so a lapsed permit turns a $275 review into a $475 one. A variance review is $250.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit

$50 per booth, and a further $50 if the application arrives fewer than five business days before the event — a late fee equal to the permit itself, which makes the five-day deadline the thing to diarise. A farm stand, meaning one separate from a market or selling from the farmer's own farm, is a distinct permit at $100.

Food Establishment Re-inspection

$80 for a re-inspection following a critical violation, or for any other required compliance inspection. Cheap against Garland and McKinney at $200, and the same $80 applies to a swimming pool re-inspection. A food handler class is $10, but note the schedule calls that a class instruction fee rather than a permit or card fee.

Retail Food Store Permit

Priced separately from a food establishment and higher at every tier: Type I $295 where the store sells only prepackaged food and does no portioning; Type II $590 once it portions — a meat counter, bakery or deli — but does no cooking or hot holding; Type III $750 where it also has an extensive menu and complex preparation. The dividing line between Type I and Type II is portioning, so putting in a deli counter more than doubles the fee. At $750 Plano's top retail band is the most expensive grocery food permit in this dataset, ahead of Carrollton's $770 only because Carrollton charges that flat.

Waste Generator Permit (Grease Trap)

$60 per trap for a grit, sand or grease trap waste generator — the cheapest grease permit in this dataset, against $100 in Pearland and $145 in Amarillo, and charged per trap rather than per premises. A liquid waste hauler is $100 per vehicle and an industrial pretreatment BMP is $50. Note that Plano removed its Industrial User Fee from this schedule and now recovers those costs through the water bill at full cost recovery, so there is no standalone permit fee to look for.

Food Establishment Permit

Four risk types, defined by the FDA's Voluntary National Retail Food Regulatory Program Standards rather than by size: Type I $240 for prepackaged non-TCS food or heating commercially processed food for hot holding with no cooling; Type II $430 where food is mostly prepared and served immediately; Type III $590 for an extensive menu with complex cooking, cooling and reheating; Type IV $640 for a highly susceptible population or specialised processes such as smoking, curing or reduced-oxygen packaging. Because the band turns on process rather than turnover, changing your menu can change your fee. Renewing late costs 10 per cent of the permit fee in the first 30 days and 20 per cent from 31 to 60 days, capped at $100. The schedule does not state how long a permit runs.

Backflow Prevention Annual Test Report Fee

$40 per test report filed with the city, and the city fee is additional to whatever the private tester charges — so the true annual cost is this plus the test itself. Applies where a backflow prevention assembly must be tested annually, which in practice means most commercial kitchens, irrigation systems and fire lines. Section 21-28 of the code requires the fee to be submitted to the backflow program administrator for each assembly tested, payable when the Plano-registered tester files the report. Confirmed at $40 by Ordinance No. 2025-10-11 of October 2025, which raised it from $35 — so a quote based on the older figure will be short.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Plano
Phone
Not verified — use the website

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Plano Code of Ordinances section 21-28, inspection, testing and registration of backflow prevention assemblies (fee set at $40 by Ordinance No. 2025-10-11, October 2025)City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
  2. City of Plano Cross-Connection Control and Backflow PreventionCity of Plano Public Works · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
  3. City of Plano Exhibit A — Environmental Health & Sustainability Department Fee Schedule, effective 1 September 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
  4. City of Plano Resolution 2025-8-1(R) approving a revised Environmental Health & Sustainability fee schedule, passed 11 August 2025City of Plano · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25

Other offices serving Plano

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Texas jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.