Commercial Compliance Hub

6 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a food truck in Plano?

In short

A food truck in Plano, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Plano Building Inspections Department charges $120 per permit for the temporary sales and seasonal vendor permit. 1 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a food truck in Plano

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Temporary Sales and Seasonal Vendor Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Building Inspections Department$120 per permitnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department$50 per boothevent-specific; duration not stated in the schedule2026-08-25
Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State)Texas Department of State Health Services$309–$876 application fee, by food-handling typeone year from the pre-licensing inspection2026-08-20

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Plano?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a food truck in Plano, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 1 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State): $309–$876 application fee, by food-handling type

Is Plano expensive for a food truck?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Plano sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Plano charges $50. Across 7 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $50. 1 charges less, 3 charge more and 2 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Temporary Food Establishment Permit varies by $27 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Plano?

Permits for a food truck in Plano, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Plano Building Inspections Department, City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Department of State Health Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a food truck need in Plano that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a food truck here applies to no other business type we cover in Plano: Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State).

Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State)

Since 1 July 2026 one DSHS permit covers every Texas jurisdiction, replacing separate permits from each local health department. Three tiers by food handling: Type I (no time/temperature controlled foods) $309 with no pre-licensing inspection fee; Type II (limited TCS handling) $618 plus a $400 pre-licensing inspection; Type III (full preparation) $876 plus a $500 pre-licensing inspection. The license expires one year from the successfully completed pre-licensing inspection, not from the application date. Temporary food dealer permits could not be issued to mobile vendors in Texas after 30 June 2026.

Shared with other businesses in Plano

  • Temporary Sales and Seasonal Vendor Permit — City of Plano Building Inspections Department, $120 per permit, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Plano Environmental Health & Sustainability Department, $50 per booth, event-specific; duration not stated in the schedule. Also required for coffee shops, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Plano?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State). A retail store needs Contractor Registration, Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit, Food Establishment Plan Review and 6 more, which a food truck does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Plano, TX, compared with a food truck
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a food truckOnly a food truck needsOnly it needs
Retail stores11219
Contractors and trades6125
Coffee shops8127
Restaurants10129
Auto repair shops5035
Childcare centres3033
Fitness studios4034
Salons and barbers2032
Veterinary clinics2032

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Plano permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Mobile Food Vendors - Texas DSHSTexas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.