19 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Allen?
In short
A retail store in Allen, TX has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Allen Planning and Development charges $100 per permit for the temporary use and special event permit. 9 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Allen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Allen Environmental Health | $200–$450 per year, by establishment type | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Temporary and Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Environmental Health | $100–$150 by duration | up to 14 days, or 14 days to 6 months for a concession stand | 2026-08-27 |
| Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development | per application | 2026-08-27 |
| Temporary Use and Special Event Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | $100 per permit | per event or per permit term | 2026-08-27 |
| Health Plan Review | City of Allen Environmental Health | $200 per review | per review | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Establishment Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Allen Environmental Health | $75 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-27 |
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Environmental Health | $250 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | $50 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Kitchen Hood Extinguishing System Permit | City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50 per system | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$150 per permit, by scope | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit | City of Allen Environmental Health | $200–$400 per facility, by type | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Allen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Protection System Construction Permit | City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | Varies — formula on the Allen page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Allen Planning and Development | Varies — formula on the Allen page | 1 year for temporary and billboard permits; not stated for permanent signs | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Allen Building and Permitting Division | $125 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Allen?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a retail store in Allen, TX, 9 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 9 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $425.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: $200–$450 per year, by establishment type
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit: $100–$150 by duration
Specific Use Permit: $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development
Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit: $50–$150 per permit, by scope
Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit: $200–$400 per facility, by type
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Allen permits page and the TX state page.
Is Allen expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Allen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Allen charges $125. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 12 charge less, 8 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Farmers Market Permit: Allen charges $250. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 here, with a median of $100. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Food Establishment Re-inspection: Allen charges $75. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 here to $200 in Bell County, with a median of $100. Nowhere else covered here charges less.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Allen?
Permits for a retail store in Allen, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Allen Environmental Health, City of Allen Building and Permitting Division, City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Allen Planning and Development, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Allen Environmental HealthIssues 6 permits on this page, including Food Establishment Permit, Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit, Health Plan Review305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/1013/Environmental-Health
- City of Allen Building and Permitting DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Contractor Registration, Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permit, Certificate of Occupancy305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/community_development/building_and_permitting/index.php
- City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Construction Permit, Commercial Kitchen Hood Extinguishing System Permit, Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/fire/index.php
- City of Allen Planning and DevelopmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Specific Use Permit, Temporary Use and Special Event Permit, Sign Permit305 Century Parkway, Allen, TX 75013www.cityofallen.org/departments/community_development/planning_and_development/planning_regulationssignsmaps.php
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Allen that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Permit
Five flat bands by what the kitchen does: a grocery store is $450, heavy food preparation $400, light food preparation $300, no food preparation $200, and a grocery department $250. The grocery department line is the one to read twice — it is charged for a deli, bakery or similar counter inside a store, in addition to the store's own permit rather than instead of it, so a supermarket with two counters pays $950. Because the bands are flat rather than turnover- or area-based, a busy restaurant and a quiet one pay the same $400. An earlier state filing listed a $150 concession stand in this annual table; the city's current schedule has moved it to the temporary table, so $200 is now the floor for an annual permit.
Specific Use Permit
$700 plus $10 an acre where the use is part of a new development, or $450 flat for a minor or existing one. Add the $300 public hearing fee, which covers the notification mailings, the newspaper notice and the sign on site, because a specific use permit goes to a hearing. This is the approval an auto repair shop, a childcare centre or a drive-through most often needs before any building permit can be pulled, so it belongs at the start of a project timeline rather than the end — a straight rezoning is $750 and a site plan another $750.
Temporary Use and Special Event Permit
$100 for a temporary use permit and $100 again to renew it, with a special event permit at the same $100. A tree removal permit, which a car park or patio build can trigger, is also $100, with a thirty-day extension at $50. None of these is expensive, but they are separate applications rather than parts of one, so a sidewalk sale on a site that also needs a tree removed is two filings.
Contractor Registration
$50 a year for every contractor required to register, and the schedule is explicit that it is charged in addition to all other fees rather than instead of any of them. The practical consequence for an owner is that the trades you hire must each be registered before a permit can be pulled, so it is worth asking a prospective contractor for their Allen registration rather than discovering at submission that they do not hold one.
Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit
$50 to handle flammable or combustible liquids, and for storage tanks $150 for the first tank and $50 for each additional one. This is the fire permit most often overlooked by an auto repair shop, which will typically hold both — the liquids permit for parts washers, waste oil and solvent, and a tank permit for anything stored in bulk. LPG is $50 on the same table, as is a flow test, a gate or access control system, and an underground fire main.
Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit
$225 per facility for a swimming pool or spa, and $225 again for shared bodies of water; a public interactive water feature or fountain is $200 at each location, and a lagoon $400. The per-location wording on water features is the part that catches people out — a site with a splash pad at each of two entrances is charged twice. Note also that building a pool carries its own construction permit: $225 in-ground, $75 above-ground, $75 for a spa alone.
Shared with other businesses in Allen
- Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit — City of Allen Environmental Health, $100–$150 by duration, up to 14 days, or 14 days to 6 months for a concession stand. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Health Plan Review — City of Allen Environmental Health, $200 per review, per review. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Reinspection — City of Allen Environmental Health, $75 per reinspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Farmers Market Permit — City of Allen Environmental Health, $250 per year, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Commercial Kitchen Hood Extinguishing System Permit — City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50 per system, per permit. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Allen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Allen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Allen?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 9 of these permits. A retail store also needs Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit and Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 10 | 9 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 4 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 3 | 8 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 3 | 8 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 3 | 8 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 2 | 9 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 10 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 10 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 10 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Allen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Allen Fee Schedule, last updated 10 June 2026 through Res. No. 4218-5-26(R)City of Allen · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
- City of Allen Food Establishment RulesCity of Allen, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
