14 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Anchorage?
In short
A restaurant in Anchorage, AK has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Anchorage
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule. | not stated in the published fee tables | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state) | Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation | Risk-scored under AMC 16.60.110 Table Two: an establishment scoring 0 to 5 points is Risk Type 1 at $260.00, 6 to 9 points is Risk Type 2 at $460.00, and 10 or more points is Risk Type 3 at $660.00 annually. A full-service restaurant typically scores 10 or more and pays $660.00. Catering adds $150.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $220.00 up to 1,000 square feet, $330.00 from 1,001 to 4,000 and $550.00 above 4,000, with revisions taking more than half an hour charged at $150.00 per hour. A change of ownership is $150.00 for each physical location and an enforcement inspection is $300.00. A food worker card is $10.00, with training at $25.00 and the examination at $10.00. Late payment adds ten percent, rising to twenty-five percent more than thirty days past due. | annual — AMCR R15.05.001 provides that all permits, unless otherwise provided, expire on December 31 of the year of issuance | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Worker Card | Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program | $10 one-time application fee | 3 years | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program | $400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or more | annual | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Anchorage
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | Municipality of Anchorage, Planning Department | Varies — formula on the Anchorage page | one-time per application | 2026-09-14 |
| General Business License — Anchorage Position (state license is universal)only if it applies to you | Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's Office | No fee | not applicable municipally; the separate State of Alaska business license expires December 31 of the licensing period purchased | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Inspection | Anchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the Anchorage page | commercial, industrial, institutional and multi-family buildings may be inspected annually or every other year | 2026-09-14 |
| Commercial Building Permit | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | Varies — formula on the Anchorage page | not stated in the published fee tables | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit) | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | No fee | one-time; a conditional certificate issued because of weather delay expires on September 15 of the following year | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
AK registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50 | every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 2 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term | 1 or 2 years, selectable at application | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing | $250 one-time filing | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to you | Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission | No fee | not applicable at the state level | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Anchorage?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Anchorage, AK, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.
Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state): Risk-scored under AMC 16.60.110 Table Two: an establishment scoring 0 to 5 points is Risk Type 1 at $260.00, 6 to 9 points is Risk Type 2 at $460.00, and 10 or more points is Risk Type 3 at $660.00 annually. A full-service restaurant typically scores 10 or more and pays $660.00. Catering adds $150.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $220.00 up to 1,000 square feet, $330.00 from 1,001 to 4,000 and $550.00 above 4,000, with revisions taking more than half an hour charged at $150.00 per hour. A change of ownership is $150.00 for each physical location and an enforcement inspection is $300.00. A food worker card is $10.00, with training at $25.00 and the examination at $10.00. Late payment adds ten percent, rising to twenty-five percent more than thirty days past due.
Food Establishment Permit: $400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or more
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Anchorage?
Permits for a restaurant in Anchorage, AK come from 8 separate offices: Municipality of Anchorage, Planning Department, Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's Office, Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Anchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Municipality of Anchorage, Planning DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Review4700 Elmore Road, Anchorage, AK 99507 · (907) 343-7900www.muni.org/Departments/OCPD/Planning
- Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — Anchorage Position (state license is universal)632 W 6th Ave, Suite 250, Anchorage, AK 99501 · (907) 343-4311www.muni.org/Businesses/pages/licenses.aspx
- Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Issues 3 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit)4700 Elmore Road, Anchorage, AK 99507 · (907) 343-8211www.muni.org/Departments/OCPD/development-services
- Anchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire and Life Safety Inspection100 East 4th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 · (907) 267-4900www.muni.org/Departments/Fire/Prevention
- Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and SanitationIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state)825 L Street, Anchorage, AK 99519 · (907) 343-4200www.muni.org/Departments/health/Admin/environment/FSS
- Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional LicensingIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Biennial Report, Business License, Articles of Organization (LLC)PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 · (907) 465-2550www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl
- Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Worker Card, Food Establishment Permit555 Cordova St, Anchorage, AK 99501 · (907) 269-7501dec.alaska.gov/eh/fss
- Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)arsstc.org
What does a restaurant need in Anchorage that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Anchorage
- Sign Permit — Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule., not stated in the published fee tables. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state) — Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation, Risk-scored under AMC 16.60.110 Table Two: an establishment scoring 0 to 5 points is Risk Type 1 at $260.00, 6 to 9 points is Risk Type 2 at $460.00, and 10 or more points is Risk Type 3 at $660.00 annually. A full-service restaurant typically scores 10 or more and pays $660.00. Catering adds $150.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $220.00 up to 1,000 square feet, $330.00 from 1,001 to 4,000 and $550.00 above 4,000, with revisions taking more than half an hour charged at $150.00 per hour. A change of ownership is $150.00 for each physical location and an enforcement inspection is $300.00. A food worker card is $10.00, with training at $25.00 and the examination at $10.00. Late payment adds ten percent, rising to twenty-five percent more than thirty days past due., annual — AMCR R15.05.001 provides that all permits, unless otherwise provided, expire on December 31 of the year of issuance. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Worker Card — Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, $10 one-time application fee, 3 years. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Permit — Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program, $400–$580 a year for a restaurant, banded by seating — $400 for 25 seats or fewer, $490 for 26 to 100, $580 for 101 or more, annual. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Anchorage, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Anchorage permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Anchorage?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Anchorage, AK need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page, retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
