Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Anchorage?

In short

A auto repair shop in Anchorage, AK has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Anchorage

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.not stated in the published fee tables2026-09-14
Auto Repair Shop — Municipal Licenses for Towing or Used-Vehicle Sales Only (Anchorage)only if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable to repair work itself2026-09-14
Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue positiononly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional LicensingNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Anchorage

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Planning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Anchorage pageone-time per application2026-09-14
General Business License — Anchorage Position (state license is universal)only if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable municipally; the separate State of Alaska business license expires December 31 of the licensing period purchased2026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety InspectionAnchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Anchorage pagecommercial, industrial, institutional and multi-family buildings may be inspected annually or every other year2026-09-14
Commercial Building PermitMunicipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Varies — formula on the Anchorage pagenot stated in the published fee tables2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit)Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)No feeone-time; a conditional certificate issued because of weather delay expires on September 15 of the following year2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Anchorage?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Anchorage, AK, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Anchorage?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Anchorage, AK come from 6 separate offices: Municipality of Anchorage, Planning Department, Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's Office, Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Anchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Anchorage that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Anchorage: Auto Repair Shop — Municipal Licenses for Towing or Used-Vehicle Sales Only (Anchorage) and Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position.

Auto Repair Shop — Municipal Licenses for Towing or Used-Vehicle Sales Only (Anchorage)

No fee applies to vehicle repair itself: neither of the two Title 10 chapters that might reach it lists vehicle repair. Chapter 10.40, Service Establishments, is enumerated and covers massage practitioners, private detectives and adult-oriented establishments only; chapter 10.20, Merchants, licenses pawnbrokers and used automobile display lots and nothing else. Two adjacent activities do attract municipal licenses and a repair business doing either picks one up: selling used vehicles requires a Used-Automobile Display Lot license at $100.00, and towing requires a Tow Operator license under AMC chapter 10.54 — the Municipal Clerk's own current Tow Operator License page prices this at a $150.00 application fee, covering one vehicle, for a license term running January 1 through December 31. A vehicle emissions inspection and maintenance station and mechanic certification programme also exists, administered on (907) 343-6970; its fees are not published in the sources cited here, so call that number for the current amount. The obligations that certainly apply are the building permit for fit-out, the sign permit, the fire and life safety inspection — Group H hazardous occupancy adds $120.00 where materials trigger it — and any Table 3-M system permit for spray or suppression equipment.

Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position

The business licensing division's A-to-Z professional licensing catalogue, covering everything from acupuncturists to veterinary examiners, contains no entry for auto repair, mechanics or collision work, so the state-level item for a repair shop is the general Alaska business license that every business holds. A Division of Motor Vehicles dealer license is triggered by buying or selling five or more vehicles a year, so it does not apply to a shop that only repairs vehicles.

Shared with other businesses in Anchorage

  • Sign Permit — Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule., not stated in the published fee tables. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Anchorage, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Anchorage permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Anchorage?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Auto Repair Shop — Municipal Licenses for Towing or Used-Vehicle Sales Only (Anchorage) and Auto Repair Shop License — Alaska professional licensing catalogue position. A fitness studio needs Fitness Studio — Pool or Spa Permit Only if Operated (Anchorage), which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Anchorage, AK, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Retail stores3122
Salons and barbers3122
Veterinary clinics3122
Coffee shops4123
Restaurants4123
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business Licenses — the Municipality's own current page stating that a state business license is universal while only certain industries need a municipal license, and enumerating the licenses the Clerk issuesMunicipality of Anchorage · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Anchorage Municipal Code, eCode360 AN6998 — Title 10 (Business Licenses and Regulations, including the repealed chapters 10.30 and 10.35), AMC 16.50 (shops), 16.55 (child care licensing), 16.60 (food establishments, including the §16.60.110 risk-scored fee table), 23.10.109 (building, contractor, sign and inspection fee tables 3-A to 3-O), 23.10.107.4 (certificate of occupancy) and 23.45.108.2 (fire fee tables 1-A to 3-M), all as amended by AO No. 2026-33, 4-14-2026Municipality of Anchorage, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Tow Operator License — the Municipal Clerk's own current page, stating an Application Fee of $150.00 (one vehicle included) for the license term of January 1 through December 31Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  4. Alaska CBPL — business licence fee schedule, $50 a year, 1- or 2-year termsAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.