17 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Burlington?
In short
A restaurant in Burlington, VT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 9 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entertainment Permit (live music at a licensed premises)only if it applies to you | City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office | An annual entertainment permit is $100.00, paid to the city clerk when the council grants it. A permit for a single performance only is $25.00, and a special events umbrella permit is also $25.00. | annual, effective May 1 and expiring April 30 each year | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington) | City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office | Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00. From the Department's own current application: a commercial caterer is $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00. | annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Establishment License | Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program | $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more | 1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program | No fee | not applicable — a CFPM credential is one of three optional paths, not a flat requirement | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Burlington Position (24 V.S.A. § 2291)only if it applies to you | City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | one-time per application | 2026-09-14 |
| Zoning Permit (required for change of use, not only construction) | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Zoning Certificate of Occupancy | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | one-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited by its own terms | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | a building permit becomes invalid after three years under Code §8-27 | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Inspection | City of Burlington Office of the City Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | per inspection cycle | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Burlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a restaurant in Burlington, VT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
9 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Entertainment Permit (live music at a licensed premises): An annual entertainment permit is $100.00, paid to the city clerk when the council grants it. A permit for a single performance only is $25.00, and a special events umbrella permit is also $25.00.
Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington): Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00. From the Department's own current application: a commercial caterer is $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.
Sign Permit: A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00.
Food Establishment License: $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Burlington?
Permits for a restaurant in Burlington, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office, City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, City of Burlington Office of the City Fire Marshal, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's OfficeIssues 3 permits on this page: General Business License — Burlington Position (24 V.S.A. § 2291), Entertainment Permit (live music at a licensed premises), Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington)149 Church Street, Burlington, VT 05401 · (802) 865-7000www.burlingtonvt.gov/1064/Business-Licenses
- City of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsIssues 5 permits on this page, including Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Development Review Board Application, Zoning Permit (required for change of use, not only construction), Zoning Certificate of Occupancy645 Pine Street, Burlington, VT 05401 · (802) 863-0442www.burlingtonvt.gov/558/Permit-Fees
- City of Burlington Office of the City Fire MarshalIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire and Life Safety Inspection132 North Avenue, Burlington, VT 05401 · (802) 864-5577www.burlingtonvt.gov/181
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment License, Certified Food Protection Manager280 State Drive, Waterbury, VT 05671 · (802) 863-7221www.healthvermont.gov/environment/food-lodging-program/retail-food-service-establishments
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a restaurant need in Burlington that other businesses do not?
Entertainment Permit (live music at a licensed premises)
This is the second of Burlington's two statutorily-permitted licensing powers in action, and it reaches restaurants and cafés more often than operators expect: it is required for live music at any first or third class liquor licensee. Section 19-18(b) sets the amounts — 'A fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) shall be paid to the city clerk on the granting of an entertainment permit by the council. An applicant requesting a permit for one (1) performance only, shall pay a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00)… A permit fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be charged for a special events umbrella permit.' The permit year runs May 1 to April 30, out of step with both the City's July fiscal year and the peddler license year, so an operator holding several city permits juggles three different renewal dates.
Sign Permit
The per-sign structure rewards planning ahead: a business installing three signs at once pays $15.00 plus $118.00 plus two lots of $80.00, and a business operating under an approved Master Sign Plan pays half the per-sign rate thereafter. Sign standards themselves sit in CDO Article 7. The fees are those of the FY2027 Fee Schedule, effective July 1, 2026.
Certified Food Protection Manager
No fee, because Vermont does not flatly require this credential — its regulation lets the person in charge demonstrate the required food safety knowledge any of three ways: holding a certified food protection manager credential, complying with the food code generally, or simply answering an inspector's questions correctly. The state's own license application form carries an explicit checkbox for having no certified manager, confirming the credential is one valid option rather than a universal mandate.
Shared with other businesses in Burlington
- Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington) — City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office, Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00. From the Department's own current application: a commercial caterer is $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00., annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more, 1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Burlington, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Burlington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Burlington?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Burlington, VT need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 5 | 0 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 3 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Code of Ordinances, City of Burlington, current through Ord. 7-15-26 — Chapter 8 §8-28 (building permit fee and minimum), Chapter 12 §12-26 (electrical), Chapter 19 §§19-2 and 19-18 (licenses and entertainment permits), Chapter 13 §13-22 (fire re-inspection fees), Chapter 23 §23-6 (peddler license fees) and Chapter 25 §25-12 (plumbing)City of Burlington, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- 24 V.S.A. ch. 61, § 2291 (Enumeration of powers) — the statute limiting Vermont municipalities to licensing itinerant vendors and peddlers under subsection (9) and circuses, shows and paid entertainments under subsection (11)Vermont General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- City of Burlington FY2027 Fee Schedule, effective July 1, 2026 — zoning permits, sign permits, conditional use and variance fees, Development Review Board fees, zoning certificates of occupancy and the $15.00 state-mandated filing feeCity of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Vermont Health Regulations for Food Service Establishments — the three alternative paths to demonstrating food safety knowledgeVermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
