16 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in South Burlington?
In short
A restaurant in South Burlington, VT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 8 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in South Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (South Burlington) | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00. | annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | A permanent sign is $55.00 per sign and a temporary sign is $5.00. Where a sign application requires design review it is charged at $55.00, against $165.00 for all other design review applications. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Food Establishment License | Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program | $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more | 1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program | No fee | not applicable — a CFPM credential is one of three optional paths, not a flat requirement | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in South Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | one-time | 2026-09-14 |
| Zoning Permit | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | a zoning permit expires after one year; site plan, conditional use, variance and design review approvals expire after six months under LDR 17.05 | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit (issued by the Fire Marshal, not Planning and Zoning) | City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | not stated in the published resolutions | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention Division | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | per permit | 2026-09-14 |
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning | Varies — formula on the South Burlington page | site plan, conditional use, variance and design review approvals expire after six months under LDR 17.05 | 2026-09-14 |
| General Business License — City of South Burlington positiononly if it applies to you | City of South Burlington City Manager's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in South Burlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a restaurant in South Burlington, VT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
8 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (South Burlington): Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00.
Sign Permit: A permanent sign is $55.00 per sign and a temporary sign is $5.00. Where a sign application requires design review it is charged at $55.00, against $165.00 for all other design review applications.
Food Establishment License: $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the South Burlington permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in South Burlington?
Permits for a restaurant in South Burlington, VT come from 6 separate offices: City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning, City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention Division, City of South Burlington City Manager's Office, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of South Burlington Department of Planning and ZoningIssues 5 permits on this page, including Certificate of Occupancy, Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (South Burlington), Zoning Permit180 Market Street, 3rd Floor, South Burlington, VT 05403 · (802) 846-4106www.southburlingtonvt.gov/188/Planning-Zoning
- City of South Burlington Fire and EMS Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (issued by the Fire Marshal, not Planning and Zoning), Fire Protection System Permit575 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403 · (802) 846-4134www.southburlingtonvt.gov/224/Permit-Applications
- City of South Burlington City Manager's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — City of South Burlington position180 Market Street, South Burlington, VT 05403 · (802) 846-4107www.southburlingtonvt.gov/221
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment License, Certified Food Protection Manager280 State Drive, Waterbury, VT 05671 · (802) 863-7221www.healthvermont.gov/environment/food-lodging-program/retail-food-service-establishments
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a restaurant need in South Burlington that other businesses do not?
Certified Food Protection Manager
No fee, because Vermont does not flatly require this credential — its regulation lets the person in charge demonstrate the required food safety knowledge any of three ways: holding a certified food protection manager credential, complying with the food code generally, or simply answering an inspector's questions correctly. The state's own license application form carries an explicit checkbox for having no certified manager, confirming the credential is one valid option rather than a universal mandate.
Shared with other businesses in South Burlington
- Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (South Burlington) — City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning, Set by statute at 18 V.S.A. § 4353(a)(1) and charged by the Vermont Department of Health, scaled by seating: $105.00 for 0 to 25 seats, $180.00 for 26 to 50, $300.00 for 51 to 100, $385.00 for 101 to 200, $450.00 for 201 to 599 and $1,000.00 for 600 or more. A home caterer is $155.00, a commercial caterer $260.00, a mobile unit $260.00, a push cart $260.00 and a limited operation $140.00., annual, issued by the Vermont Department of Health. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Sign Permit — City of South Burlington Department of Planning and Zoning, A permanent sign is $55.00 per sign and a temporary sign is $5.00. Where a sign application requires design review it is charged at $55.00, against $165.00 for all other design review applications., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Food Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health, Food and Lodging Program, $105–$1,000 a year for a restaurant, banded steeply by seating from 1–25 seats up to 600 or more, 1 year from the date of the opening inspection, not prorated. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in South Burlington, VT; what each one involves is set out on the South Burlington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in South Burlington?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in South Burlington, VT need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the South Burlington permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Vermont Health Regulations for Food Service Establishments — the three alternative paths to demonstrating food safety knowledgeVermont Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
