8 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Pearland?
In short
A coffee shop in Pearland, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Pearland Fire Marshal's Office charges $150 per inspection for the commercial cooking inspection. 1 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Pearland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health Certificate for Food Related Establishments | City of Pearland Health Department | $250–$750 by risk category | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Cooking Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Pearland Fire Marshal's Office | $150 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pearland Health Department | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Containment Trap and Interceptor Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Assembly Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Pearland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a coffee shop in Pearland, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 1 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Health Certificate for Food Related Establishments: $250–$750 by risk category
Is Pearland expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Pearland sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Pearland charges $50. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $51. 1 charges less, 4 charge more and 2 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Temporary Food Establishment Permit varies by $27 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Pearland?
Permits for a coffee shop in Pearland, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Pearland Health Department, Pearland Fire Marshal's Office, City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Pearland Health DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Health Certificate for Food Related Establishments, Temporary Food Establishment Permit3519 Liberty Drive, Pearland, TX 77581www.pearlandtx.gov/departments/community-development/health-services/food-permits
- Pearland Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Cooking Inspection2703 Veterans Drive, Pearland, TX 77584www.pearlandtx.gov/departments/fire-marshal
- City of Pearland Public Works, Utility BillingIssues 2 permits on this page: Containment Trap and Interceptor Fee, Backflow Prevention Assembly Registration3519 Liberty Drive, Pearland, TX 77581www.pearlandtx.gov/departments/public-works
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Pearland that other businesses do not?
Health Certificate for Food Related Establishments
Three risk bands: $250 low, $500 medium, $750 high, with a $30 processing fee on top of whichever applies. A general inspection is $150. The reinspection charge is the one to plan around, because it is not flat: failing an initial inspection costs fifty per cent of the permit fee, so $125 on a low-risk site and $375 on a high-risk one — the establishments least able to absorb a failure are also the ones charged most for it. Note that the fee table Pearland filed with Texas DSHS in January 2026 prices this permit on employee count instead, from $150 to $750 full service and $125 to $250 limited preparation; Ordinance No. 1358-33 of 22 June 2026 is later and is the instrument that adopts the fees, so the risk bands above are the current ones. If a member of staff quotes you an employee-count figure, this is why.
Commercial Cooking Inspection
$150, charged by the Fire Marshal's Office and entirely separate from the Health Department's $150 general inspection — two departments, two visits, two fees, and a restaurant pays both. This is the inspection of the cooking equipment, hood and suppression system rather than of food handling.
Shared with other businesses in Pearland
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Pearland Health Department, $50 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Containment Trap and Interceptor Fee — City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Backflow Prevention Assembly Registration — City of Pearland Public Works, Utility Billing, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Pearland?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 5 of these permits. A restaurant needs International Fire Code Operational Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 7 | 5 | 0 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 7 | 3 | 2 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, auto repair shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pearland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Pearland Ordinance No. 1358-33, Exhibit A Fee Schedule, passed on second and final reading 22 June 2026City of Pearland, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- City of Pearland food establishment fee table filed with Texas DSHS, January 2026 — superseded by Ordinance No. 1358-33City of Pearland, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
