20 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Pasadena?
In short
A coffee shop in Pasadena, TX has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office charges $100 per year, renewal $50 for the commercial fire alarm permit. 9 of the 20 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Pasadena
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liquid Waste Transporter Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Public Health Department | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | $250–$500 per year, by occupant load | one year, renewed annually | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | $100 per year, renewal $50 | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Electrical Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Pasadena Public Health Department | $260–$460 per year, by risk category | one permitted year | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Utility Releaseonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $50 per 90-day release | up to 90 days, renewable in further 90-day periods | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Exhaust Hood Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $50–$100 per hood, by class | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Public Health Department | $52 for 1 to 14 days | 1 to 14 days | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Letter of Completiononly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $50 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Membrane Structure and Tent Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | $125 per permit | per event | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Pasadena
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Electrical Service Permit | City of Pasadena Permit Department | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | annual | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Change of Use or Occupancy | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $150 per application, covering the inspections | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy Issued With a Building Permit | City of Pasadena Permit Department | $50 added to the permit and plan review fees | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use or occupancy | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Plan Review — Building | City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | one-time, per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Pasadena Permit Department | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Pasadena Permit Department | Varies — formula on the Pasadena page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Pasadena?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 20 records listed for a coffee shop in Pasadena, TX, 10 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 10 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 20 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy: $250–$500 per year, by occupant load
Electrical Sign Permit: $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type
Food Establishment Permit: $260–$460 per year, by risk category
Commercial Exhaust Hood Permit: $50–$100 per hood, by class
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page.
Is Pasadena expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Pasadena sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Pasadena charges $52. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $35 in Grayson County to $62 in Austin, with a median of $51. 4 charge less, 1 charges more and 2 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Temporary Food Establishment Permit varies by $27 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Pasadena?
Permits for a coffee shop in Pasadena, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Pasadena Permit Department, City of Pasadena Public Health Department, City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Pasadena Permit DepartmentIssues 9 permits on this page, including Commercial Electrical Service Permit, Certificate of Occupancy — Change of Use or Occupancy, Certificate of Occupancy Issued With a Building Permit(713) 475-5575www.pasadenatx.gov/399/Permits-Licenses
- City of Pasadena Public Health DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Liquid Waste Transporter Permit, Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Food Establishment Permit1149 Ellsworth Drive, Pasadena, TX 77506 · 713-475-5529www.pasadenatx.gov/315/Health
- City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 5 permits on this page, including Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy, Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection, Commercial Fire Alarm Permit209 N. Main, Pasadena, TX 77506 · 713-475-5556www.pasadenatx.gov/588/Fire-Marshals-Office
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Pasadena that other businesses do not?
Commercial Exhaust Hood Permit
$100 for a Class 1 commercial exhaust hood — the grease-bearing type over a cooking line — and $50 for a Class 2. Commercial ventilation is $40 per fan. Where a full commercial heating or air conditioning system goes in, that is $60 each plus $5 a ton, with commercial condenser and air handler replacements at the same rate; a refrigeration permit is $40 plus $3 a ton and a boiler operating permit $75.
Temporary Membrane Structure and Tent Permit
$125 for a tent or temporary membrane structure. The rest of Pasadena's special assembly and pyrotechnics schedule sits with it: carnivals, circuses and car shows $400, explosives use or storage $400, fireworks displays $600, pyrotechnics use or storage $300, and commercial burn operations $350. Fire extinguisher training is $150 and an emergency generator or access gate permit $125 each.
Shared with other businesses in Pasadena
- Liquid Waste Transporter Permit — City of Pasadena Public Health Department, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for auto repair shops, contractors and trades and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit — Assembly Occupancy — City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, $250–$500 per year, by occupant load, one year, renewed annually. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Commercial Fire Alarm Permit — City of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office, $100 per year, renewal $50, one year. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Electrical Sign Permit — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $40–$75 per circuit, by sign type, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Food Establishment Permit — City of Pasadena Public Health Department, $260–$460 per year, by risk category, one permitted year. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Temporary Utility Release — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $50 per 90-day release, up to 90 days, renewable in further 90-day periods. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Pasadena Public Health Department, $52 for 1 to 14 days, 1 to 14 days. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Letter of Completion — City of Pasadena Permit Department, $50 per certificate, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Pasadena, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Pasadena permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Pasadena?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 10 of these permits. A restaurant needs Commercial Demolition Permit, Paving and Parking Repair Permit, Commercial Roofing Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 14 | 10 | 0 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 16 | 9 | 1 | 7 |
| Fitness studios | 6 | 4 | 6 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 3 | 7 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 8 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 8 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 9 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 9 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 8 | 1 | 9 | 7 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, retail stores page, veterinary clinics page, restaurants page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Pasadena permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fee Schedule — building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permit feesCity of Pasadena Permit Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Fee Schedule — Sec. 13-12 Fire and Life Safety Operating Permit, Special Use Permits, and Inspections FeesCity of Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
