Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Eagle Pass?

In short

A coffee shop in Eagle Pass, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Eagle Pass Planning Department charges $25 per permit for the business permit. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Eagle Pass

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment Business PermitCity of Eagle Pass Health Department$150–$250 per year, by employee count1 year from the date of issuance2026-08-25
Food Establishment Plan ReviewCity of Eagle Pass Health DepartmentNo feeper review2026-08-25
Per-Event Food Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Eagle Pass Health Department$25 per eventper event2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Eagle Pass

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business PermitCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$25 per permitnot stated in the published documents2026-08-25
Commercial Building PermitCity of Eagle Pass Planning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Eagle Pass pageapplication lapses 180 days after filing; permit lapses if work is not commenced within 180 days2026-08-25
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$50 per certificatenot stated in the published documents2026-08-25
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$88 per sign permitper permit2026-08-25
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$98 per structureper permit2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Eagle Pass?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a coffee shop in Eagle Pass, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Business Permit: $150–$250 per year, by employee count

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Eagle Pass permits page and the TX state page.

Is Eagle Pass expensive for a coffee shop?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Eagle Pass sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Eagle Pass charges $50. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 20 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Demolition Permit: Eagle Pass charges $98. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 2 charge less and 3 charge more.

Sign Permit: Eagle Pass charges $88. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Lubbock to $114 in Amarillo, with a median of $88. 2 charge less and 2 charge more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Eagle Pass?

Permits for a coffee shop in Eagle Pass, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Eagle Pass Planning Department, City of Eagle Pass Health Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Eagle Pass that other businesses do not?

Food Establishment Plan Review

Required before a permit issues and again before any construction begins, but the code names no charge for it — section 16-8(c), read directly, states the requirement and stops there, so the absence is what the ordinance itself says rather than a gap in this research. The trigger is worth knowing precisely: plans go to the planning department wherever a food establishment is constructed, extensively remodelled — defined as a 25 per cent or greater increase in floor area — or wherever an existing structure is converted to food use. They must show the layout, equipment arrangement, mechanical plans, construction materials of work areas, and the type and model of proposed fixed equipment.

Per-Event Food Permit

$25 an event — under half the $52 state ceiling that most Texas jurisdictions charge, and among the cheapest event permits recorded here. The code frames the choice as one of duration: an applicant pays according to how long they wish to trade, per event or annually.

Shared with other businesses in Eagle Pass

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Eagle Pass, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Eagle Pass permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Eagle Pass?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 3 of these permits. A restaurant needs Contractor Registration and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Eagle Pass, TX, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants5302
Retail stores3211
Food trucks2121
Auto repair shops1031
Childcare centres1031
Contractors and trades2032
Fitness studios1031
Salons and barbers2032
Veterinary clinics1031

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Eagle Pass permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Eagle Pass Code of Ordinances section 16-8, Fee for city's food establishment business permit and review of plans (filed with Texas DSHS 12 November 2025)City of Eagle Pass, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.