9 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Eagle Pass?
In short
A auto repair shop in Eagle Pass, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Eagle Pass Planning Department charges $25 per permit for the business permit. 2 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Eagle Pass
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor Registration | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $65–$100 initial, then annual renewal | 1 year, running 1 January to 31 December | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Eagle Pass
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Permit | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $25 per permit | not stated in the published documents | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | Varies — formula on the Eagle Pass page | application lapses 180 days after filing; permit lapses if work is not commenced within 180 days | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $50 per certificate | not stated in the published documents | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $88 per sign permit | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $98 per structure | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Eagle Pass?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a auto repair shop in Eagle Pass, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Contractor Registration: $65–$100 initial, then annual renewal
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Eagle Pass permits page and the TX state page.
Is Eagle Pass expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Eagle Pass sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Eagle Pass charges $50. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 20 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Eagle Pass charges $98. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 2 charge less and 3 charge more.
Sign Permit: Eagle Pass charges $88. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Lubbock to $114 in Amarillo, with a median of $88. 2 charge less and 2 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Eagle Pass?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Eagle Pass, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of Eagle Pass Planning Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Eagle Pass Planning DepartmentIssues 6 permits on this page, including Business Permit, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy3295 Bob Rogers Drive, Eagle Pass, TX 78852www.eaglepasstx.gov/248/Forms-Links-Maps
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Eagle Pass that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Eagle Pass
- Contractor Registration — City of Eagle Pass Planning Department, $65–$100 initial, then annual renewal, 1 year, running 1 January to 31 December. Also required for contractors and trades, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Eagle Pass, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Eagle Pass permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Eagle Pass?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 1 of these permits. A contractor or trade needs Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Eagle Pass permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
