Commercial Compliance Hub

9 published records

Business licenses and permits in Eagle Pass, Texas

Eagle Pass bands its food permit on employee count in three steps from $150 to $250 — the lowest ceiling of any employee-banded schedule in this dataset, less than a third of the $773 that Senate Bill 1008 would allow. The penalty structure is where it bites: operating without a permit costs $150 on top of the permit itself, and a late renewal compounds at 10 per cent for every month past due rather than as a one-off. The code also requires plans to be submitted to the planning department before work begins wherever a food establishment is built, converted, or remodelled by 25 per cent or more of floor area.

What are you opening in Eagle Pass?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Eagle Pass

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business PermitCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$25 per permitnot stated in the published documents2026-08-25
Commercial Building PermitCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$30 base permit fee plus $2.00 per $1,000 of value for non-residential buildings, valued from ICC Building Valuation Data; plan check $193 for new commercial and industrial or $88 for additions and renovations; projects over $1,000,000 valuation add 1% of the building feeapplication lapses 180 days after filing; permit lapses if work is not commenced within 180 days2026-08-25
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$50 per certificatenot stated in the published documents2026-08-25
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$88 per sign permitper permit2026-08-25
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department$98 per structureper permit2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Eagle Pass?

Business Permit

$25 — the cheapest general business permit recorded in this dataset. It sits on the building permit fee table beside the certificate of occupancy, which suggests the two are usually taken together when premises change hands. The application does not state a renewal period; confirm with the Planning Department whether it runs annually.

Commercial Building Permit

Two dollars per thousand of value is among the lowest construction rates in this dataset — a $250,000 fit-out is about $530 including the base fee, against roughly $6,450 in Mansfield for the same job. The value is taken from ICC Building Valuation Data rather than from what you declare. Two additions are easy to miss: a park dedication charge of $1.00 per $1,000 of value on top, and a further 1 per cent of the building fee once valuation passes $1m. Building without a permit doubles the fee with a $200 floor. Note the lapse rules — the application dies 180 days after filing, and the permit dies if work has not started within 180 days of issue.

Certificate of Occupancy

$50, and the city runs a separate application for occupancy or use that does NOT require a building permit — which is the form a tenant taking on finished premises needs. The ordinance reaches further than most: Appendix A section 18 says no vacant LAND may be occupied or used except for agricultural purposes until a certificate has issued, so an outdoor use such as a car lot or a storage yard needs one even with no building involved.

Sign Permit

$88 flat, whatever the size or illumination. The application form requires a site plan and an elevation drawing with the sign application, which is more documentation than most cities here ask for at this price. A sign contractor must hold the city's contractor registration separately.

Demolition Permit

$98 per structure, and the form is explicit that an asbestos survey is required for all work except a single-family residence — so a commercial demolition carries a survey cost that is not on the fee table and will usually exceed the permit. Fill and grade work is $193, and a right-of-way curb cut $50.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Eagle Pass Commercial and Industrial Building Permit Application, revision 06/2025, including the Office Use Only fee tableCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25

Who issues business permits in Eagle Pass?

Permitting in Eagle Pass is split across 2 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Eagle Pass issuing agencies

Other Texas jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.