13 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in El Paso?
In short
A coffee shop in El Paso, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department charges $110 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 7 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Handler Certification | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $10–$32 per person, internet or in person | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $79–$265 temporary, seasonal or recurrent | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $125–$205 per license, by hazard | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $105–$263 per review, by floor area | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Administrative Change Feeonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $105 per change | per change | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $174–$685 per year, by floor area | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $110 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $115 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in El Paso?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a coffee shop in El Paso, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $110.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Handler Certification: $10–$32 per person, internet or in person
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $79–$265 temporary, seasonal or recurrent
Fire Operational Permit: $125–$205 per license, by hazard
Food Establishment Plan Review: $105–$263 per review, by floor area
Food Service Establishment Permit: $174–$685 per year, by floor area
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page.
Is El Paso expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — El Paso sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: El Paso charges $110. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 11 charge less and 10 charge more.
Demolition Permit: El Paso charges $115. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 3 charge less and 2 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in El Paso?
Permits for a coffee shop in El Paso, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department, El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of El Paso Environmental Services Code EnforcementIssues 5 permits on this page, including Food Handler Certification, Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Food Establishment Plan Review5115 El Paso Drive, El Paso, TX 79905 · (915) 212-6610www.elpasotexas.gov/public-health/services/food-inspection
- City of El Paso Planning and Inspections DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Demolition Permit811 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901 · (915) 212-0104www.elpasotexas.gov/planning-and-inspections
- El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Operational Permit416 N Stanton Street, El Paso, TX 79901www.elpasotexas.gov/fire-department
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in El Paso that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in El Paso
- Food Handler Certification — City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, $10–$32 per person, internet or in person, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, $79–$265 temporary, seasonal or recurrent, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Fire Operational Permit — El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $125–$205 per license, by hazard, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Food Establishment Plan Review — City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, $105–$263 per review, by floor area, per review. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Administrative Change Fee — City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, $105 per change, per change. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit — City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, $174–$685 per year, by floor area, 1 year. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in El Paso, TX; what each one involves is set out on the El Paso permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in El Paso?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 6 of these permits. A retail store needs Commercial Swimming Pool and Spa Permit and Rezoning Application, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 8 | 6 | 0 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 9 | 6 | 0 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 4 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 5 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, food trucks page, auto repair shops page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
