Eagle Pass
City of Eagle Pass Planning Department
In short
City of Eagle Pass Planning Department issues 6 permits we publish for Eagle Pass, last verified 2026-08-25. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Permit | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $25 per permit | not stated in the published documents | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $30 base permit fee plus $2.00 per $1,000 of value for non-residential buildings, valued from ICC Building Valuation Data; plan check $193 for new commercial and industrial or $88 for additions and renovations; projects over $1,000,000 valuation add 1% of the building fee | application lapses 180 days after filing; permit lapses if work is not commenced within 180 days | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $50 per certificate | not stated in the published documents | 2026-08-25 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $65–$100 initial, then annual renewal | 1 year, running 1 January to 31 December | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $88 per sign permit | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Eagle Pass Planning Department | $98 per structure | per permit | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Business Permit
$25 — the cheapest general business permit recorded in this dataset. It sits on the building permit fee table beside the certificate of occupancy, which suggests the two are usually taken together when premises change hands. The application does not state a renewal period; confirm with the Planning Department whether it runs annually.
Commercial Building Permit
Two dollars per thousand of value is among the lowest construction rates in this dataset — a $250,000 fit-out is about $530 including the base fee, against roughly $6,450 in Mansfield for the same job. The value is taken from ICC Building Valuation Data rather than from what you declare. Two additions are easy to miss: a park dedication charge of $1.00 per $1,000 of value on top, and a further 1 per cent of the building fee once valuation passes $1m. Building without a permit doubles the fee with a $200 floor. Note the lapse rules — the application dies 180 days after filing, and the permit dies if work has not started within 180 days of issue.
Certificate of Occupancy
$50, and the city runs a separate application for occupancy or use that does NOT require a building permit — which is the form a tenant taking on finished premises needs. The ordinance reaches further than most: Appendix A section 18 says no vacant LAND may be occupied or used except for agricultural purposes until a certificate has issued, so an outdoor use such as a car lot or a storage yard needs one even with no building involved.
Contractor Registration
$100 for the initial annual registration and $65 to renew each year thereafter, on proof of continued compliance. The amount is set by section 8-54 of the code; the city's registration form names the nine trades that must register — master plumber, mechanical contractor, electrical contractor, apprentice, journeyman and master electrician, general contractor, sign contractor, demolition contractor and swimming pool contractor — but carries no figure, which is why this was previously recorded as an obligation without an amount. The fiscal year runs 1 January to 31 December whatever month you register, and a new registration taken out after 1 July costs half. Renewals are never prorated, so registering in October buys three months at half price and then a full year.
Sign Permit
$88 flat, whatever the size or illumination. The application form requires a site plan and an elevation drawing with the sign application, which is more documentation than most cities here ask for at this price. A sign contractor must hold the city's contractor registration separately.
Demolition Permit
$98 per structure, and the form is explicit that an asbestos survey is required for all work except a single-family residence — so a commercial demolition carries a survey cost that is not on the fee table and will usually exceed the permit. Fill and grade work is $193, and a right-of-way curb cut $50.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Eagle Pass
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Eagle Pass Code of Ordinances Chapter 8, Article IV, section 8-54, contractor certificate of registration feesCity of Eagle Pass · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Eagle Pass Commercial and Industrial Building Permit Application, revision 06/2025, including the Office Use Only fee tableCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Eagle Pass Contractor Registration ApplicationCity of Eagle Pass Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Other offices serving Eagle Pass
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
