14 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Lubbock?
In short
A coffee shop in Lubbock, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety charges $75 per site for the sign permit. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Lubbock
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Lubbock Environmental Health | $100–$350 by risk band | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Environmental Health | $52 per permit | under 14 days | 2026-08-24 |
| Sample Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Environmental Health | $25 for the first two days, then $5 for each day after | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Grit Interceptor and Oil/Water Separator Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | $75 per permit | per permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Signonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office | $30–$2,000 per permit, by type | per permit or per event | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lubbock
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | $75 per site | per permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per permit; an expired permit renews at 50% of the original fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Mechanical, Plumbing and Electrical Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Plan Review | City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Final Fire Inspection | City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Lubbock?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Lubbock, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: $100–$350 by risk band
Sample Permit: $25 for the first two days, then $5 for each day after
Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign: $30–$2,000 per permit, by type
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lubbock permits page and the TX state page.
Is Lubbock expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Lubbock sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Sign Permit: Lubbock charges $75. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 here to $114 in Amarillo, with a median of $88. Nowhere else covered here charges less.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Sign Permit varies by $39 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Lubbock?
Permits for a coffee shop in Lubbock, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety, City of Lubbock Environmental Health, City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lubbock Department of Building SafetyIssues 5 permits on this page, including Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy1314 Avenue K, 1st Floor Annex, Lubbock, TX 79401www.mylubbock.us/923/Permits
- City of Lubbock Environmental HealthIssues 3 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Food Permit, Sample Permit1902 Texas Avenue, Lubbock, TX · 806-775-3000www.mylubbock.us/188/Environmental-Health
- City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Plan Review, Final Fire Inspection, Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign1515 E Ursuline Street, Lubbock, TX 79403www.mylubbock.us/589/Fire-Department-Permits
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Lubbock that other businesses do not?
Grit Interceptor and Oil/Water Separator Permit
$75, covering a grit interceptor, an oil/water separator or a sample port on the same line — so the vehicle workshop's separator and the wash bay's interceptor are priced identically to any other plumbing item. It sits under plumbing rather than under environmental health, which is where most operators look first and is why it gets missed. This is an installation permit rather than an annual charge.
Shared with other businesses in Lubbock
- Food Establishment Permit — City of Lubbock Environmental Health, $100–$350 by risk band, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary Food Permit — City of Lubbock Environmental Health, $52 per permit, under 14 days. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Sample Permit — City of Lubbock Environmental Health, $25 for the first two days, then $5 for each day after, not stated in the published material. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign — City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office, $30–$2,000 per permit, by type, per permit or per event. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lubbock, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Lubbock permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Lubbock?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 5 of these permits. A restaurant needs Food Processing Permit, Contractor Registration, Zoning and Platting Application and 3 more, which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 11 | 5 | 0 | 6 |
| Retail stores | 10 | 4 | 1 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 2 | 3 | 7 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 4 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lubbock permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Lubbock Building Safety Fee Schedule, 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026 (adopted under budget Ordinance No. 2024-O0111)City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
