10 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Amarillo?
In short
A coffee shop in Amarillo, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Amarillo Building Safety Department charges $114 per permit for the sign permit. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Amarillo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Permit | Amarillo Area Public Health District, Environmental Health Department | $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales | 1 year from the date of application | 2026-08-25 |
| Fats, Oils and Grease Permit | Amarillo Area Public Health District, Environmental Health Department | $145 per establishment, per year | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Amarillo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | Varies — formula on the Amarillo page | plan review expires 180 days after the last correction notice | 2026-08-25 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $114 per permit | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | Varies — formula on the Amarillo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $70 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Amarillo Building Safety Department | $151 per review and inspection | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Amarillo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a coffee shop in Amarillo, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $296.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Amarillo permits page and the TX state page.
Is Amarillo expensive for a coffee shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Amarillo sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Amarillo charges $151. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 17 charge less and 4 charge more.
Sign Permit: Amarillo charges $114. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Lubbock to $114 here, with a median of $88. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Amarillo?
Permits for a coffee shop in Amarillo, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Amarillo Building Safety Department, Amarillo Area Public Health District, Environmental Health Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Amarillo Building Safety DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review, Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit808 S Buchanan Street, Amarillo, TX 79101www.amarillo.gov/departments/community-services/building-safety
- Amarillo Area Public Health District, Environmental Health DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Fats, Oils and Grease Permit1000 Martin Road, Amarillo, TX 79107www.amarillo.gov/departments/community-services/public-health
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Amarillo that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Permit
Amarillo sets no food permit fee of its own. Section 8-5-15(b)(1) provides that food establishment permit fees are assessed annually “in accordance with the rates, as amended, established by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Retail Food Safety Group” — so the operative figures are the state’s: $258 up to $49,999.99 of gross annual food sales, $515 from $50,000 to $149,999.99 and $773 at $150,000 or more. That adoption by reference is why no Amarillo food fee schedule exists to be found, and it is also why these are the same three figures McKinney and Williamson County charge. The rates apply to initial applications, renewals and change of ownership alike; amending a permit is $125, $250 or $375 on the same bands. The permit runs one year from the date of application, not from issue. The regulator is the Amarillo Area Public Health District.
Shared with other businesses in Amarillo
- Fats, Oils and Grease Permit — Amarillo Area Public Health District, Environmental Health Department, $145 per establishment, per year, 1 year. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Amarillo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Amarillo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Amarillo?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 2 of these permits. A restaurant needs On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permit, Wrecking and Moving Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 5 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 2 | 0 | 4 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Amarillo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Texas DSHS Retail Food Establishment permit fees — the rates Amarillo Municipal Code section 8-5-15(b)(1) adopts by referenceTexas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Amarillo Municipal Code Chapter 8-5, Public and Environmental Health, including section 8-5-15 FeesCity of Amarillo · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Amarillo Ordinance No. 8115, amending Chapter 8-5 food establishment and pool provisionsCity of Amarillo, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
